1991 PGA Championship: John Daly Rips It

John Daly of the USA wins the USPGA Championship at Crooked Stick in Carmel, Indiana, USA in August 1991
John Daly can't believe he just won the 1991 PGA Championship. Stephen Munday/Getty Images

The world of golf was introduced to a rip-roarin', golf-ball-smashin' folk hero in 1991, when he was still young, mulleted and mustachioed: John Daly. Long John Daly, grippin' it and rippin' it.

Daly won the 1991 PGA Championship at Crooked Stick Golf Club by bombing drives farther than anyone could remember seeing before, and by shirking off the pressure of chasing not just his first major championship title, but his first PGA Tour win.

Daly wasn't even supposed to be in the field. He was the ninth alternate at the beginning of the tournament week, but players kept dropping out. After Nick Price withdrew to be with his wife, who was about to give birth, the three alternates still in front of Daly were unable to make it to Indiana. So Daly was in.

Daly didn't even have time to get in a practice round, but he opened with a 69. After a second-round 67, Daly took the lead. He also gained his first notariety along with the lead, all the attention focusing on the little-known, long-hitting Arkansan. Daly's have-to-see-it-to-believe-it backswing drew everyone's attention, even that of Jack Nicklaus.

Seeing Daly here for the first time, Nicklaus remarked: "Good gracious, what a coil, what an unleashing of power. I don't know who he reminds me of. I haven't seen anybody who hit the ball that far."

Most observers thought Daly would soon crumble, but he carded a 69 in the third round and finished the day with a four-stroke lead over veteran Bruce Lietzke.

Daly and Lietzke played in the final pair together in Round 4, with Lietzke outdriven by 50 yards every time. Before the round, Lietzke surmised that hitting first into every green might allow him to put some pressure on the unproven Daly.

It didn't work. Lietzke shot 70 in the final round, but Daly had a 71 and a 3-stroke victory.

Daly remains one of the most popular champions in tournament history.

Two-time PGA Championship winner Dave Stockton played the tournament for the final time this year, missing the cut.

The tournament was marred by tragedy, too, unfortunately. During a weather delay in the first round, a spectator perished after being struck by lightning.

1991 PGA Championship Scores

Results from the 1991 PGA Championship golf tournament played on the par-72 Crooked Stick Golf Club in Carmel, Indiana:

John Daly69-67-69-71--276$230,000
Bruce Lietzke68-69-72-70--279$140,000
Jim Gallagher Jr.70-72-72-67--281$95,000
Kenny Knox67-71-70-74--282$75,000
Bob Gilder73-70-67-73--283$60,000
Steven Richardson70-72-72-69--283$60,000
David Feherty71-74-71-68--284$38,000
Raymond Floyd69-74-72-69--284$38,000
John Huston70-72-70-72--284$38,000
Steve Pate70-75-70-69--284$38,000
Craig Stadler68-71-69-76--284$38,000
Hal Sutton74-67-72-71--284$38,000
Jay Don Blake75-70-72-68--285$24,000
Andrew Magee69-73-68-75--285$24,000
Payne Stewart74-70-71-70--285$24,000
Nick Faldo70-69-71-76--286$17,000
Ken Green68-73-71-74--286$17,000
Wayne Levi73-71-72-70--286$17,000
Sandy Lyle68-75-71-72--286$17,000
Rocco Mediate71-71-73-71--286$17,000
Gil Morgan70-71-74-71--286$17,000
Howard Twitty70-71-75-70--286$17,000
Seve Ballesteros71-72-71-73--287$11,500
Chip Beck73-73-70-71--287$11,500
Mike Hulbert72-72-73-70--287$11,500
Jack Nicklaus71-72-73-71--287$11,500
Fred Couples74-67-76-71--288$8,150
Rick Fehr70-73-71-74--288$8,150
Jim Hallet69-74-73-72--288$8,150
Mark McNulty75-71-69-73--288$8,150
Loren Roberts72-74-72-70--288$8,150
Billy Andrade73-74-68-74--289$6,000
Mark Calcavecchia70-74-73-72--289$6,000
David Edwards71-75-71-72--289$6,000
Steve Elkington74-68-74-73--289$6,000
Dan Forsman73-74-68-74--289$6,000
Davis Love III72-72-72-73--289$6,000
Jodie Mudd74-71-74-70--289$6,000
Greg Norman70-74-72-73--289$6,000
Corey Pavin72-73-71-73--289$6,000
Tom Purtzer69-76-71-73--289$6,000
Doug Tewell75-72-74-68--289$6,000
Ed Dougherty75-70-69-76--290$4,030
Wayne Grady72-70-71-77--290$4,030
Scott Hoch71-75-72-72--290$4,030
Craig Parry73-70-76-71--290$4,030
Lanny Wadkins71-74-72-73--290$4,030
Keith Clearwater72-72-76-71--291$3,175
Brad Faxon72-71-76-72--291$3,175
David Frost74-70-75-72--291$3,175
Ian Woosnam67-72-76-76--291$3,175
David Graham72-73-73-74--292$2,725
Tom Kite73-72-75-72--292$2,725
Mark McCumber74-72-71-75--292$2,725
Eduardo Romero72-75-73-72--292$2,725
Tom Sieckmann68-76-74-74--292$2,725
Fred Funk71-69-72-81--293$2,538
Nolan Henke74-70-75-74--293$2,538
Blaine McCallister71-76-77-69--293$2,538
Lindy Miller72-72-77-72--293$2,538
Dave Barr75-72-76-71--294$2,463
Jeff Sluman73-73-74-74--294$2,463
Gene Sauers75-71-70-79--295$2,400
Joey Sindelar74-73-71-77--295$2,400
Bob Wolcott73-71-79-72--295$2,400
Dillard Pruitt72-75-73-76--296$2,313
Bob Tway73-71-78-74--296$2,313
Mark Wiebe72-73-73-78--296$2,313
Scott Williams70-77-76-73--296$2,313
Denny Hepler71-75-75-76--297$2,225
Lonnie Nielsen74-71-74-78--297$2,225
David Peoples74-73-75-75--297$2,225
Phil Blackmar73-72-82-71--298$2,138
Billy Ray Brown69-75-79-75--298$2,138
Hale Irwin70-76-74-78--298$2,138
Don Pooley72-74-72-80--298$2,138
Kenny Perry72-73-79-76--300$2,075

1990 PGA Championship | 1992 PGA Championship

Back to list of PGA Championship Winners