1995 PGA Championship: Elkington Wins Playoff

Steve Elkington with the trophy after the 1995 PGA Championship
Steve Elkington claimed the trophy at the 1995 PGA Championship. Jon Cuban/Getty Images

Ernie Els shared or held the lead at the 1995 PGA Championship after 36 holes and after 54. Following the third round, Els was in front by three strokes over Jeff Maggert. But neither Maggert nor Els figured in the final reckoning; Maggert played well with a 2-under 69, while Els posted a pedestrian 1-over 72. Both were overtaken by Steve Elkington and Colin Montgomerie.

Elkington started the final round six strokes behind Els, while Monty was five back.

But Elkington shot a blistering 64, and Montgomerie tied Elkington's 17-under 267 total with a round of 65.

On the first playoff hole, Elkington rolled in a 25-foot putt for birdie, then Monty missed a 20-footer. Steve Elkington was the 1995 PGA Championship winner. Els and Maggert tied for third.

Elkington's comeback from six behind was the second-best final-round comeback in tournament history to this point. Elkington and Montgomerie set a new tournament scoring record (later bettered) at 267, and tied what was then the lowest stroke total in any major (since bettered).

The victory was Elkington's sixth on the PGA Tour, and his first major. It remained his only major, although he did also win twice at the prestigious Players Championship.

Fifth-place finisher Brad Faxon tied the tournament (and major championship) 18-hole record with a 63 in the final round. That score included a 28 on the front nine, the all-time 9-hole scoring record in the PGA Championship.

Jack Nicklaus finished tied for 67th here; it was the last time Nicklaus made the cut in a PGA Championship.

1995 PGA Championship Scores

Results from the 1995 PGA Championship golf tournament played at the par-71 Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, California (x-won playoff):

x-Steve Elkington68-67-68-64--267$360,000
Colin Montgomerie68-67-67-65--267$216,000
Ernie Els66-65-66-72--269$116,000
Jeff Maggert66-69-65-69--269$116,000
Brad Faxon70-67-71-63--271$80,000
Bob Estes69-68-68-68--273$68,500
Mark O'Meara64-67-69-73--273$68,500
Jay Haas69-71-64-70--274$50,000
Justin Leonard68-66-70-70--274$50,000
Steve Lowery69-68-68-69--274$50,000
Jeff Sluman69-67-68-69--274$50,000
Craig Stadler71-66-66-71--274$50,000
Jim Furyk68-70-69-68--275$33,750
Miguel Angel Jimenez69-69-67-70--275$33,750
Payne Stewart69-70-69-67--275$33,750
Kirk Triplett71-69-68-67--275$33,750
Mike Campbell71-65-71-69--276$26,000
Costantino Rocca70-69-68-69--276$26,000
Curtis Strange72-68-68-68--276$26,000
Greg Norman66-69-70-72--277$21,000
Jesper Parnevik69-69-70-69--277$21,000
Duffy Waldorf69-69-67-72--277$21,000
Woody Austin70-70-70-68--278$15,500
Nolan Henke68-73-67-70--278$15,500
Peter Jacobsen69-67-71-71--278$15,500
Lee Janzen66-70-72-70--278$15,500
Bruce Lietzke73-68-67-70--278$15,500
Billy Mayfair68-68-72-70--278$15,500
Steve Stricker75-64-69-70--278$15,500
Sam Torrance69-69-69-71--278$15,500
Paul Azinger70-70-72-67--279$8,907
Mark Brooks67-74-69-69--279$8,907
Fred Couples70-69-74-66--279$8,907
Nick Faldo69-73-70-67--279$8,907
Gil Morgan66-73-74-66--279$8,907
Jose Maria Olazabal72-66-70-71--279$8,907
Joe Ozaki71-70-65-73--279$8,907
D.A. Weibring74-68-69-68--279$8,907
Lennie Clements67-71-72-70--280$6,750
Fred Funk70-72-68-70--280$6,750
Sandy Lyle67-73-69-71--280$6,750
Nick Price71-71-70-68--280$6,750
Philip Walton71-70-71-68--280$6,750
Chip Beck66-74-73-68--281$5,600
Ben Crenshaw68-73-73-67--281$5,600
Jim Gallagher Jr.64-72-73-72--281$5,600
Gene Sauers69-71-68-73--281$5,600
Peter Senior68-71-74-68--281$5,600
John Adams65-76-71-70--282$4,620
Brian Claar68-67-73-74--282$4,620
Robin Freeman71-69-70-72--282$4,620
Jumbo Ozaki73-68-69-72--282$4,620
Kenny Perry75-67-70-70--282$4,620
Michael Bradley63-73-73-74--283$4,050
Hale Irwin71-68-71-73--283$4,050
Tom Kite70-69-70-74--283$4,050
Scott Simpson71-67-71-74--283$4,050
Ed Dougherty68-72-74-70--284$3,630
Per-Ulrik Johansson72-69-71-72--284$3,630
Steve Pate71-71-71-71--284$3,630
Loren Roberts74-68-71-71--284$3,630
Tom Watson71-71-72-70--284$3,630
Barry Lane74-68-75-68--285$3,400
Mike Sullivan72-69-71-73--285$3,400
Lanny Wadkins73-69-71-72--285$3,400
Dillard Pruitt73-69-72-72--286$3,300
David Frost69-73-72-73--287$3,263
Jack Nicklaus69-71-71-76--287$3,263
Fuzzy Zoeller72-69-75-72--288$3,225
Brian Kamm71-66-74-78--289$3,200
Curtis Byrum71-71-78-71--291$3,163
Wayne DeFrancesco69-73-74-75--291$3,163

1994 PGA Championship | 1996 PGA Championship

Back to list of PGA Championship Winners