2002 PGA Championship: Journeyman Beem Holds Off Tiger

Rich Beem putts on the eighth green during the final round on August 18, 2002 for the 2002 PGA Championship at Hazeltine National Golf Club
2002 PGA Championship winner Rich Beem putts during the final round. Harry How/Getty Images

Tiger Woods made one of his best Sunday charges in a major at the 2002 PGA Championship, birdying the final four holes in a role at Hazeltine National Golf Club.

Only one problem: It wasn't enough.

Journeyman Rich Beem, best known to this point as one of the wild-and-crazy golfers featured in the book , stared down Woods and walked away with his first PGA Tour victory.

Beem began his own march to victory with an eagle on the par-5 11th, the only eagle on that hole in the entire championship.

That came with Woods just one stroke behind, giving Beem a nice cushion on the back nine. Down the stretch, with Woods draining his string of birdies, Beem holed a 35-foot birdie putt on the 16th to keep himself on top.

Beem bogied the final hole, but it didn't matter: He had a 1-stroke victory over Woods. The indelible image is of Beem raising his arms after the final putt went in, then shaking his hips in a brief but joyous celebration dance.

It was actually Beem's second win of the year, and his third overall on the PGA Tour. But he never won again on the PGA Tour.

For Woods, history repeated at the 2009 PGA Championship: It was also at Hazeltine, and another lesser light eclipsed Woods for that title.

With his victory, Beem became the fourth son of a PGA Professional to win the PGA Championship. The previous three were Jack Burke Jr. (1955), Dave Marr (1965) and and Davis Love III (1997).

2002 PGA Championship Scores

Results from the 2002 PGA Championship played at Hazeltine National Golf Club (par 72) in Chaska, Minn.:

Rich Beem, $990,00072-66-72-68--278
Tiger Woods, $594,00071-69-72-67--279
Chris Riley, $374,00071-70-72-70--283
Fred Funk, $235,00068-70-73-73--284
Justin Leonard, $235,00072-66-69-77--284
Rocco Mediate, $185,00072-73-70-70--285
Mark Calcavecchia, $172,00070-68-74-74--286
Vijay Singh, $159,00071-74-74-68--287
Jim Furyk, $149,00068-73-76-71--288
Jose Coceres, $110,714.2972-71-72-74--289
Steve Lowery, $110,714.2971-71-73-74--289
Pierre Fulke, $110,714.2972-68-78-71--289
Ricardo Gonzalez, $110,714.2974-73-71-71--289
Sergio Garcia, $110,714.2975-73-73-68--289
Stewart Cink, $110,714.2974-74-72-69--289
Robert Allenby, $110,714.2976-66-77-70--289
Charles Howell, $72,00072-69-80-69--290
Stuart Appleby, $72,00073-74-74-69--290
Steve Flesch, $72,00072-74-73-71--290
Padraig Harrington, $72,00071-73-74-72--290
Peter Lonard, $72,00069-73-75-73--290
Heath Slocum, $57,00073-74-75-69--291
Michael Campbell, $44,25073-70-77-72--292
Jeff Sluman, $44,25070-75-74-73--292
Bernhard Langer, $44,25070-72-77-73--292
Adam Scott, $44,25071-71-76-74--292
Justin Rose, $44,25069-73-76-74--292
Retief Goosen, $44,25069-69-79-75--292
Tom Lehman, $33,50071-72-77-73--293
Kenny Perry, $33,50073-68-78-74--293
Kirk Triplett, $33,50075-69-79-70--293
Brad Faxon, $33,50074-72-75-72--293
Craig Perks, $33,50072-76-74-71--293
Phil Mickelson, $26,30076-72-78-68--294
David Duval, $26,30071-77-76-70--294
Mike Weir, $26,30073-74-77-70--294
Neal Lancaster, $26,30072-73-75-74--294
Ernie Els, $26,30072-71-75-76--294
Joel Edwards, $21,50073-74-77-71--295
John Huston, $21,50074-74-75-72--295
Scott McCarron, $21,50073-71-79-72--295
Chris DiMarco, $21,50076-69-77-73--295
Briny Baird, $17,00079-69-73-75--296
Shigeki Maruyama, $17,00072-72-75-73--296
Loren Roberts, $17,00077-70-77-77--296
Soren Hansen, $17,00073-69-78-76--296
Kevin Sutherland, $17,00072-75-71-78--296
Davis Love III, $13,12070-75-76-76--297
Tom Watson, $13,12076-71-83-67--297
Steve Elkington, $13,12072-75-76-74--297
Len Mattiace, $13,12074-73-76-74--297
Angel Cabrera, $13,12071-73-77-76--297
Lee Janzen, $11,742.8670-76-77-75--298
Tim Clark, $11,742.8672-74-76-76--298
Brian Gay, $11,742.8673-74-78-73--298
Cameron Beckman, $11,742.8674-71-75-78--298
Chris Smith, $11,742.8675-73-72-78--298
Toshimitsu Izawa, $11,742.8672-73-75-78--298
Greg Norman, $11,742.8671-74-73-80--298
Hal Sutton, $11,20073-73-75-78--299
Joe Durant, $11,20074-71-79-75--299
Nick Faldo, $11,20071-76-74-78--299
J.J. Henry, $11,00078-70-77-76--301
Don Berry, $10,75076-71-80-75--302
J.P. Hayes, $10,75073-75-78-76--302
Joey Sindelar, $10,75077-71-78-76--302
Matt Gogel, $10,75074-73-83-72--302
Dave Tentis, $10,50076-72-78-78--304
Jose Maria Olazabal, $10,40073-75-77-80--305
Pat Perez, $10,30077-71-85-76--309
Thomas Levet, $10,20078-70-82-80--310

2001 PGA Championship | 2003 PGA Championship

Back to list of PGA Championship Winners