2018 PGA Championship

3rd hole at Bellrive Country Club in St. Louis
The third green at Bellerive Country Club, site of the 2018 PGA Championship. A. Messerschmidt/Getty Images

The PGA Championship, run by the PGA of America, is played every August. It was first played in 1916. The tournament is one of the four major championships of men's professional golf.

  • Dates: August (specific dates TBA), 2018
  • Location: Bellerive Country Club in Town and Country, Missouri
  • Defending champion: Justin Thomas
  • Ticket info

The 2018 PGA Championship Golf Course

Bellerive Country Club was originally founded in 1897 and its current course dates to 1960 (designed by Robert Trent Jones Sr.).

The club is located in a suburb of St. Louis. Bellerive has hosted major championships before - including one PGA Championship - in the following years (with tournament winners listed):

  • 2013 Senior PGA Championship: Koki Idoki
  • 2004 U.S. Senior Open: Peter Jacobsen
  • 1992 PGA Championship: Nick Price
  • 1965 U.S. Open: Gary Player

Bellerive was also the site of the 2008 BMW Championship (won by Camilo Villegas), part of the FedEx Cup playoff series.

The 1965 U.S. Open at Bellerive is where Gary Player completed his career Grand Slam.

Qualifying Criteria for 2018 PGA Championship

There are multiple ways that golfers can qualify to play in the PGA Championship. The field also always includes 20 club professionals playing along with the touring pros. Players who meet the following qualifications (note - subject to change prior to 2018 PGA) earn berths in the field:

  • All former PGA Champions
  • Winners of the previous five U.S. Opens
  • Winners of the previous five Masters
  • Winners of the previous five British Opens
  • The current year Senior PGA Champion
  • The low 15 (and ties) finishers from the previous PGA Championship
  • The low 20 finishers in the current year PGA Professional National Championship (these are the club pros)
  • Top top 70 players on the PGA Championship points list for a one-year period concluding (typically) two weeks prior to the current year PGA Championship
  • Members of the most recent Ryder Cup teams (both USA and Europe)
  • Winners of PGA Tour events during the period from last year's PGA Championship to this year's PGA
  • Remaining openings in field filled by first available player(s) from PGA Championship points list
  • Plus any player the PGA of America might choose to invite who otherwise failed to meet the above qualifying criteria.

More on the PGA Championship

Key FAQs for tournament week:

PGA Championship Winners
Check out the list of previous PGA Championship winners and you won't fint just a list of every winner in tournament history. You'll also be able to view the final scores from each tournament, and a recap of play.

Best Golfers Who Never Won the PGA Championship
Most of golf's greatest appear on the list of PGA winners linked above. But not all of them! Here are the 10 greatest players who tried but never won the PGA Championship.

Visit our PGA Championship golf tournament index for more info about this major.