Album Review: Songs 4 Worship - Country

A review of the country gospel compilation

Songs 4 Worship: Country
Songs 4 Worship: Country. Time Life

Time Life has managed to put together another amazing gospel album that compiles beautiful performances by popular country artists. Some of today's hottest stars, as well as yesterday's favorites, come together on this album, singing contemporary Christian songs of faith in Songs 4 Worship: Country. These tunes are already well-known in the gospel world, but are now revamped with pure country soul.

Album Review:

Country music has had religious roots from the beginning. Many of country's top artists, past and present, have recorded gospel songs, if not entire gospel albums. Many country artists have been outspoken on their religious views, and if you were ever to attend church in Nashville on a Sunday morning, some of country music's finest may be sitting beside you.

There is a song on this album for you: for the times you feel down on your luck, when you feel like you're on top of a mountain, and everything in between. It's difficult to find a compilation that is entirely full of great songs, but Time Life has managed to put the top songs on one album. Songs 4 Worship: Country features well-known country acts and legends, including Charlie Daniels, Diamond Rio, Emerson Drive and Rascal Flatts, to name a few. The variety of voices on this album breathe new life into these hymns. Instead of performing traditional gospel, which many country stars tend to lean toward, this album offers a refreshing, lively take on the classics.

 It's great to listen to such popular artists perform songs that stray from their typical material.

Diamond Rio's "Open The Eyes of My Heart," Emerson Drive's "I Can Only Imagine" and Rebecca Lynn Howard's "God Is In The House" are all beautiful, dynamic renditions of popular gospel songs, and although Ricky Skaggs has recorded many gospel tunes before, he absolutely soars in "We All Bow Down," further proving his talent and longevity.

Charlie Daniels lends his legendary voice to "Awesome God," bringing the song to life and proving his range and abilities as a performer. Rascal Flatts' "He Ain't The Leaving Kind" confirms the talented trio's scope of talent.

Overall, Songs 4 Worship: Country is well worth purchasing if you like modern gospel songs. The quality of the songs and performers, as well as the diversity of the tracks, make it a fantastic addition to your collection.

Track List:

  1. Open The Eyes of My Heart - Diamond Rio
  2. I Can Only Imagine - Emerson Drive
  3. God Is In The House - Rebecca Lynn Howard
  4. We All Bow Down - Ricky Scaggs
  5. Awesome God - Charlie Daniels
  6. Shout to the Lord - Linda Davis
  7. Here I Am to Worship - Lenny LeBlanc
  8. He Ain't The Leavin' Kind - Rascal Flatts
  9. Lord I Am Yours - Rebecca Lynn Howard
  10. Get Up In Jesus' Name - Collin Raye
  11. God of Wonders - Bryan White
  12. (Amazing Love) You Are My King - Rachel Robinson
  13. Come Now Is The Time to Worship - Oak Ridge Boys
  14. How Great Is Our God - Trinecia Butler
  15. All For Love - Marty Raybon
  16. Doxology - The Wilsons

Compare Prices