Alphabetical List of All African Countries

Map of Africa with flags.
kosmozoo / Getty Images

Below is an alphabetical list of all African countries, along with capitals and the state names as they are known within each country or in local official languages. In addition to the current sovereign states in Africa, the list also includes Western Sahara, which is recognized by the African Union and some United Nations members.

Alphabetical List of All African Countries

 Official State Name (English) Capital National State Name
Algeria (People's Democratic Republic of Algiers)  Algiers  Al Jaza'ir
 Angola (Republic of Angola) Luanda Angola
 Benin (Republic of Benin)  Porto-Novo (official); Cotonou (seat of government  Benin
 Botswana (Republic of Botswana)  Gaborone Botswana
 Burkina Faso  Oaugadougou Burkina Faso
Burundi (Republic of Burundi)  Bujumbura (economic); Gitega (political, as of 2019) Burundi
Cape Verde (Republic of Cabo Verde)  Praia Cabo Verde
Cameroon (Republic of Cameroon)  Yaoundé Cameroon; Cameroun 
Central African Republic (CAR)  Bangui Ködörösêse tî Bêafrîka; Republique Centrafricaine
Chad (Republic of Chad)  N'Djamena Tchad
Comoros (Union of the Comoros) Moroni Komori; Comores; al-Ittiḥād al-Qumurī
Congo (Democratic Republic of the Congo) Kinshasa Republique Democratique du Congo
Congo-Brazzaville (Republic of the Congo) Brazzaville Republic of the Congo
Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) Yamoussoukro (official); Abidjan (administrative seat) Republic of Côte d'Ivoire
Djibouti (Republic of Djibouti) Djibouti Djibouti; Jabuuti
Egypt (Arab Republic of Egypt) Cairo Miṣr
Equatorial Guinea (Republic of Equatorial Guinea) Malabo Guinea Ecuatorial; Guinee Equatoriale
Eritrea (State of Eritrea) Asmara Ertra
Eswatini (Kingdom of Eswatini) Mbabane (official); Lobamba (royal and legislative) Umbuso weSwatini 
Ethiopia (Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia) Addis Ababa Ityop'iya
Gabon (Gabonese Republic) Libreville Gabon
Gambia (Republic of the Gambia) Banjul The Gambia
Ghana (Republic of Ghana) Accra Ghana
Guinea (Republic of Guinea) Conakry Guinee
Guinea-Bissau (Republic of Guinea-Bissau) Bissau Guine-Bissau
Kenya (Republic of Kenya) Nairobi Kenya
Lesotho (Kingdom of Lesotho) Maseru Lesotho
Liberia (Republic of Liberia) Monrovia Liberia
Libya Tripoli Libiya
Madagascar (Republic of Madagascar) Antananarivo Madagascar; Madagasikara
Malawi (Republic of Malawi) Lilongwe Malawi
Mali (Republic of Mali) Bamako Mali
Mauritania (Islamic Republic of Mauritania) Nouakchott Muritaniyah
Mauritius (Republic of Mauritius) Port Louis Mauritius
Morocco (Kingdom of Morocco) Rabat al-Mamlakah al-Maghribiyyah
Mozambique (Republic of Mozambique) Maputo Mocambique
Namibia (Republic of Namibia) Windhoek Namibia
Niger (Republic of Niger) Niamey Niger
Nigeria (Federal Republic of Nigeria) Abuja Nigeria
Rwanda (Republic of Rwanda) Kigali Rwanda
São Tomé and Principe (Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Principe) São Tomé São Tomé e Principe
Senegal (Republic of Senegal) Dakar Senegal
Seychelles (Republic of Seychelles) Victoria Seychelles
Sierra Leone (Republic of Sierra Leone) Freetown Sierra Leone
Somalia (Federal Republic of Somalia)* Mogadishu Soomaaliya
South Africa (Republic of South Africa) Pretoria South Africa
South Sudan (Republic of South Sudan) Juba South Sudan
Sudan (Republic of the Sudan) Khartoum Jumhūriyyat as-Sūdān
Tanzania (United Republic of Tanzania) Dodoma (official); Dar es Salaam (former capital and executive seat) Tanzania
Togo (Togolese Republic) Lomé Republique Togolaise
Tunisia (Republic of Tunisia) Tunis al-Jumhūrīyah at-Tūnisīyah
Uganda (Republic of Uganda) Kampala Uganda
Sahrawi Arab Democractic Republic (Western Sahara)** El Aaiún (official); Tifariti (provisional) Sahrawi
Zambia (Republic of Zambia) Lusaka Zambia
Zimbabwe (Republic of Zimbabwe) Harare Zimbabwe

*The autonomous region of Somaliland (located within Somalia) is not included in this list as it has not yet been recognized by any sovereign states.

**The Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic is a partially-recognized state, recognized by the African Union and 41 United Nations member states, but also claimed by Morocco.


The World Factbook(2013-14). Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2013 (updated 15 July 2015) (accessed 24 July 2015).

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Thompsell, Angela. "Alphabetical List of All African Countries." ThoughtCo, Sep. 22, 2022, Thompsell, Angela. (2022, September 22). Alphabetical List of All African Countries. Retrieved from Thompsell, Angela. "Alphabetical List of All African Countries." ThoughtCo. (accessed May 28, 2023).