American History Timeline - 1701 - 1725

Engraving of William Penn's Treaty with the Lenni Lenape Indians in 1681.
Engraving of William Penn's Treaty with the Lenni Lenape Indians in 1681. Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, LC-USZ62-2583



  • New Jersey is formed when East and West Jersey are united under the authority of the New York governor.
  • Queen Anne’s War (The War of Spanish Succession) begins. Later in the year, the Spanish settlement at St. Augustine falls to Carolina forces.
  • Cotton Mather publishes The Ecclesiastical History of New England, 1620-1698.



  • During Queen Anne’s War, French and Abenaki Indians destroy Deerfield Massachusetts. Later in the year, New England colonists destroy two important supply villages in Acadia (present day Nova Scotia).
  • The first regular newspaper, the Boston News-Letter was published.
  • The first Delaware assembly meets.


  • The Virginia Black Code of 1705 is passed. This restricts the travel of slaves and names them officially as 'real estate'.


  • Benjamin Franklin is born to Josiah Franklin and Abiah Folger, 
  • French and Spanish soldiers unsuccessfully attack Charlestown, South Carolina during Queen Anne’s War.


  • The United Kingdom of Great Britain is founded when the Act of the Union combines England, Scotland, and Wales.


  • The English settlement at Newfoundland is captured by French and Indian forces.


  • Massachusetts is becoming more willing to accept other religions as evidenced by the Quakers being allowed to establish a meeting house in Boston.


  • The English capture Port Royal (Nova Scotia) and rename the settlement Annapolis.


  • The Tuscarora Indian War begins when North Carolina settlers are killed by the Indians.


  • Carolina is officially separated into North and South Carolina, each with its own governor.
  • Pennsylvania bans the import of slaves into the colony.


  • When South Carolinian forces capture Fort Nohucke of the Tuscarora Indians, the remaining Indians flee north and join the Iroquois Nation
  • The Treaty of Utrecht ends Queen Anne’s War. Acadia, Hudson Bay, and Newfoundland are given to the English.


  • King George I becomes the King of England. He would reign until 1727. 
  • Tea is introduced to the American colonies.


  • Maryland is given back to Charles, the fourth Lord Baltimore after a long period of royal rule.


  • Black slaves arrive for the first time in the French colony of Louisiana.


  • Scots-Irish immigration begins in earnest due to higher rent rates in the Great Britain.


  • New Orleans is founded.
  • The Spanish found the city of San Antonio in the Texas territory.


  • Spanish settlers surrender Pensacola, Florida to French forces.


  • The three largest cities in the colonies are Boston, Philadelphia, and New York City.


  • South Carolina is named a royal colony.
  • When Sir Robert Walpole becomes the English Chancellor of the Exchequer, a period of “benign neglect” begins that will have huge ramifications in the years leading up to the American Revolution.


  • The Alamo is erected as a mission in San Antonio.


  • Maryland requires the establishment of public schools in all counties.


  • The first permanent settlement in Vermont is established at present-day Brattleboro.


  • It is estimated that by 1725 there are approximately 75,000 black slaves in the American colonies.

Source: Schlesinger, Jr., Arthur M., ed. "The Almanac of American History." Barnes & Nobles Books: Greenwich, CT, 1993.