American League Most Valuable Player Award Winners

Baseball's MVP Award Winners from 1931 to Today

Josh Donaldson 2015 playoffs
Blue Jays third baseman Josh Donaldson posted an 8.8 WAR en route to 2015 American League MVP honors. Harry How/Getty Images

The Baseball Writers' Association of America was tasked in 1931 with picking Major League Baseball’s Most Valuable Player Awards, and the American League's MVP winners have ranged from rookie outfielders to reinvigorated relief pitchers. 


Mike Trout officially arrived, as the L.A. Angels' center fielder won his second MVP when he was just 25, hitting .315 with 29 homers in 2016. Detroit first baseman/designated hitter won back-to-back MVP awards and was the first triple crown winner in 45 years after leading the AL with a .330 average, 44 home runs and 139 runs batted in (RBI) in 2012.

2016: Mike Trout, L.A. Angels

2015: Josh Donaldson, Toronto Blue Jays

2014: Mike Trout, L.A. Angels

2013: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

2012: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

2011: Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers

2010: Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers


Alex Rodriguez won all three of his MVP awards after 2000, one as a shortstop with the Texas Rangers and a pair as a third baseman with the Yankees. Seattle outfielder Ichiro Suzuki became the first rookie to win AL MVP in 26 years, taking the AL batting crown with a .350 average to win a close 2001 vote over Oakland first baseman/designated hitter Jason Giambi.

2009: Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins

2008: Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox

2007: Alex Rodriguez, New York Yankees

2006: Justin Morneau, Minnesota Twins

2005: Alex Rodriguez, New York Yankees

2004: Vladimir Guerrero, Anaheim Angels

2003: Alex Rodriguez, Texas Rangers

2002: Miguel Tejada, Oakland Athletics

2001: Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle Mariners

2000: Jason Giambi, Oakland Athletics


Frank Thomas won back-to-back MVPs, hitting .353 with 38 home runs in the strike-shortened 1994 season, while the Texas Rangers boasted the MVP in three of four seasons: Juan Gonzalez won in 1996 and 1998 by hitting 46 and 48 home runs, respectively, while Ivan Rodriguez took the award in 1999 by hitting .332 with 35 home runs.

1999: Ivan Rodriguez, Texas Rangers

1998: Juan Gonzalez, Texas Rangers

1997: Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle Mariners

1996: Juan Gonzalez, Texas Rangers

1995: Mo Vaughn, Boston Red Sox

1994: Frank Thomas, Chicago White Sox

1993: Frank Thomas, Chicago White Sox

1992: Dennis Eckersley, Oakland Athletics

1991: Cal Ripken, Baltimore Orioles

1990: Rickey Henderson, Oakland Athletics


The Brewers of Milwaukee came alive in the 80s, taking home the AL MVP three times. Rollie Fingers, a star of the '70s Oakland A’s, became the first relief pitcher to win the AL MVP by saving 28 games in the strike-shortened 1981 season, while shortstop Robin Yount followed in 1982 and finished the decade with his second MVP.

1989: Robin Yount, Milwaukee Brewers

1988: Jose Canseco, Oakland Athletics

1987: George Bell, Toronto Blue Jays

1986: Roger Clemens, Boston Red Sox

1985: Don Mattingly, New York Yankees

1984: Willie Hernandez, Detroit Tigers

1983: Cal Ripken, Baltimore Orioles

1982: Robin Yount, Milwaukee Brewers

1981: Rollie Fingers, Milwaukee Brewers

1980: George Brett, Kansas City Royals


Vida Blue and Reggie Jackson led Oakland in the '70s, as Blue went 24-8 with a 1.82 ERA in 1971, and Jackson had 32 homers and 117 RBI. Fred Lynn, who played centerfield for the Boston Red Sox, became the first rookie to win the MVP when he hit .331 in 1975.

1979: Don Baylor, California Angels

1978: Jim Rice, Boston Red Sox

1977: Rod Carew, Minnesota Twins

1976: Thurman Munson, New York Yankees

1975: Fred Lynn, Boston Red Sox

1974: Jeff Burroughs, Texas Rangers

1973: Reggie Jackson, Oakland Athletics

1972: Dick Allen, Chicago White Sox

1971: Vida Blue, Oakland Athletics

1970: Boog Powell, Baltimore Orioles


New York’s Roger Maris was MVP twice, the second thanks to his historic 61-home runs in 1961. Yankee teammates Mickey Mantle and Elston Howard followed with awards of their own, while Boston’s Carl Yastrzemski took home the MVP with the last triple crown of the 20th century, hitting .326 with 44 homers and 121 RBI in 1967.

1969: Harmon Killebrew, Minnesota Twins

1968: Denny McLain, Detroit Tigers

1967: Carl Yastrzemski, Boston Red Sox

1966: Frank Robinson, Baltimore Orioles

1965: Zoilo Versalles, Minnesota Twins

1964: Brooks Robinson, Baltimore Orioles

1963: Elston Howard, New York Yankees

1962: Mickey Mantle, New York Yankees

1961: Roger Maris, New York Yankees

1960: Roger Maris, New York Yankees


Phil Rizzuto started the Yankees' streak in 1950 when the shortstop hit .324, and teammate Yogi Berra won three MVPs in five seasons while anchoring the Yankees behind the plate. Mantle had back-to-back awards, finishing with 52 homers in 1956 and hitting .365 in 1957.

1959: Nellie Fox, Chicago White Sox

1958: Jackie Jensen, Boston Red Sox

1957: Mickey Mantle, New York Yankees

1956: Mickey Mantle, New York Yankees

1955: Yogi Berra, New York Yankees

1954: Yogi Berra, New York Yankees

1953: Al Rosen, Cleveland Indians

1952: Bobby Shantz, Philadelphia Athletics

1951: Yogi Berra, New York Yankees

1950: Phil Rizzuto, New York Yankees


Joe DiMaggio grabbed the second and third MVP of his storied Yankees career, while Detroit’s Hal Newhouser took back-to-back awards by winning 54 games in two seasons. Ted Williams brought the MVP back to Boston in the same decade he became the last player of the 20th century to hit .400 (which he did in 1941 when DiMaggio took home the MVP with a .357 average, 30 homers and 125 RBI). 

1949: Ted Williams, Boston Red Sox

1948: Lou Boudreau, Cleveland Indians

1947: Joe DiMaggio, New York Yankees

1946: Ted Williams, Boston Red Sox

1945: Hal Newhouser, Detroit Tigers

1944: Hal Newhouser, Detroit Tigers

1943: Spud Chandler, New York Yankees

1942: Joe Gordon, New York Yankees

1941: Joe DiMaggio, New York Yankees

1940: Hank Greenberg, Detroit Tigers


The Philadelphia Athletics kicked things off with three straight MVPs. Philadelphia pitcher Lefty Grove won a career-high 31 games with a 2.06 ERA to take the first-ever AL MVP. Teammate Jimmie Foxx, a slugging first baseman, won the award twice by hitting .364 with 58 home runs in 1932 and .356 with 48 homers in 1933. He won his third MVP by hitting 50 homers with Boston in 1938.

1939: Joe DiMaggio, New York Yankees

1938: Jimmie Foxx, Boston Red Sox

1937: Charley Gehringer, Detroit Tigers

1936: Lou Gehrig, New York Yankees

1935: Hank Greenberg, Detroit Tigers

1934: Mickey Cochrane, Detroit Tigers

1933: Jimmie Foxx, Philadelphia Athletics

1932: Jimmie Foxx, Philadelphia Athletics

1931: Lefty Grove, Philadelphia Athletics