21 Nobel Peace Prize Winners From the United States

21 Americans Have Won the Nobel Peace Prize. Here's a List

Obama last day
President Barack Obama arrives at the U.S. Capitol on his final day in office, January 20, 2017. Win McNamee / Getty Images

The number of Nobel Peace Prize winners from the United States is nearly two dozen, which includes four presidents, a vice president and secretary of State. The most recent Nobel Peace Prize winner from the United States is President Barack Obama.

Here is a list of all 21 Nobel Peace Prize winners from the United States and the reason for the honor.

Barack Obama - 2009

Barack Obama
President Barack Obama. Mark Wilson / Getty Images News

President Barack Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2009, a choice that surprised many around the world because the 44th president of the United States had been in office less than a year when he was honor for "his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples."

Obama joined the ranks of only three other president who was the Nobel Peace Prize. The others are Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson and Jimmy Carter. 

Wrote the Nobel selection committee of Obama:

"Only very rarely has a person to the same extent as Obama captured the world's attention and given its people hope for a better future. His diplomacy is founded in the concept that those who are to lead the world must do so on the basis of values and attitudes that are shared by the majority of the world's population."

Al Gore - 2007

Former U.S. Vice President Al Gore reacts to the crowd on day four of the Democratic National Convention (DNC) at Invesco Field at Mile High August 28, 2008 in Denver, Colorado.
Mark Wilson/Getty Images News/Getty Images

Former Vice President Al Gore won the Nobel Peace Price in 2007 for "their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change"

Nobel Details

Jimmy Carter - 2002

The 39th president of the United States was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize "for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development."

Nobel Details

Jody Williams - 1997

The founding coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines was honored for work "banning and clearing of anti-personnel mines."

Nobel Details

Elie Wiesel - 1986

The chairman of the President's Commission on the Holocaust won for making it his life's work "bear witness to the genocide committed by the Nazis during World War II."

Nobel Details

Henry A. Kissinger - 1973

56th Secretary of State of the United States from 1973 to 1977.
Joint prize with Le Duc Tho, Democratic Republic of Vietnam.
Nobel Details

Norman E. Borlaug - 1970

Director, International Wheat Improvement Program, International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center
Nobel Details

Martin Luther King - 1964

Leader, Southern Christian Leadership Conference
Nobel Details

Linus Carl Pauling - 1962

California Institute of Technology, author No More War!
Nobel Details

George Catlett Marshall - 1953

General President, American Red Cross; ex-Secretary of State and of Defense; Originator of "Marshall Plan"
Nobel Details

Ralph Bunche - 1950

Professor, Harvard University; Acting Mediator in Palestine, 1948
Nobel Details

Emily Greene Balch - 1946

Professor of History and Sociology; Honorary International President, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
Nobel Details

John Raleigh Mott - 1946

Chair, International Missionary Council; President, World Alliance of Young Men's Christian Associations
Nobel Details

Cordell Hull - 1945

Former U.S. Representative; Former U.S. Senator; Former Secretary of State; Helped create the United Nations
Nobel Details

Jane Addams - 1931

International President, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom; first woman president, the National Conference of Charities and Corrections; chair of the Women's Peace Party, an American organization; president, the International Congress of Women
Nobel Details

Nicholas Murray Butler - 1931

President, Columbia University; head, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace; promoted the 1928 Briand Kellogg Pact, "providing for the renunciation of war as an instrument of national policy"
Nobel Details

Frank Billings Kellogg - 1929

Former Senator; former Secretary of State; member, Permanent Court of International Justice; co-author of Briand-Kellogg Pact, "providing for the renunciation of war as an instrument of national policy"
Nobel Details

Charles Gates Dawes - 1925

Vice-President of United States , 1925 to 1929; Chairman of Allied Reparation Commission (Originator of Dawes Plan, 1924, regarding German reparations)
Shared with Sir Austen Chamberlain, United Kingdom
Nobel Details

Thomas Woodrow Wilson - 1919

President of United States (1913-1921); Founder of the League of Nations
Nobel Details

Elihu Root - 1912

Secretary of State; Originator of various treaties of arbitration
Nobel Details

Theodore Roosevelt - 1906

Vice President of the United States (1901); President of the United States (1901-1909)
Nobel Details