ANA Inspiration, an LPGA Major Championship

ANA Inspiration was formerly known as the Kraft Nabisco Championship

Dinah Shore statue at Mission Hills, site of ANA Inspiration
A statue of tournament founder DInah Shore stands by the 18th green and next to the pond into which the ANA Inspiration winner traditionally jumps. David Cannon/Getty Images

The ANA Inspiration golf tournament is part of the LPGA Tour and is one of the five major championships in women's golf. ANA stands for All Nippon Airlines, a Japanese carrier that became title sponsor beginning in 2015. ANA replaced Kraft Nabisco as title sponsor. The tournament has been known by multiple names throughout its history:

  • ANA Inspiration: 2015-
  • Kraft Nabisco Championship: 2002-2014
  • Nabisco Championship: 2000-01
  • Nabisco Dinah Shore: 1982-1999
  • Colgate Dinah Shore: 1972-1981

Despite all the changes in title sponsors, the ANA Inspiration has always been played at Mission Hills Country Club in California. The tournament was founded by entertainer Dinah Shore, a strong supporter of women's golf and the LPGA. Shore died in 1994, but there is a statue of her at the host course. It is tradition for the tournament winner to jump in the lake next to the 18th green.
Photos: Ladies of the Lake a'Leapin

2017 Tournament

  • When: March 30-April 2
  • Where: Mission Hill Country Club, Rancho Mirage, Calif.
  • Ticket info

2016 ANA Inspiration
Lydia Ko won her second major championship title three weeks before her 19th birthday. Ko fired a final round 69 and won this event by a single shot. Her first major win was at the 2015 Evian Championship. Ko took the lead in the final round for the first time when she birdied the final hole to reach 12-under and finish at 276.

Charley Hull and In Gee Chun tied for second, one shot behind. Ariya Jutanugarn led late and appeared like she might be headed to her first major win, but finished with three consecutive bogeys and fell to third place.

2015 ANA Inspiration
Brittany Lincicome won here for the second time, winning a playoff against Stacy Lewis on the third extra hole.

In her 2009 victory, Lincicome won by eagling the 72nd hole. She eagled the 72nd hole again this time, which got her into the playoff. Lincicome and Lewis traded pars the first two playoff holes, then Lincicome won with a par on the third. Lewis had putts to win on the 72nd hole, plus each of the first two playoff holes, and barely missed each one. This was Lincicome's fifth LPGA Tour victory.

Lydia Ko ties all-time record for consecutive under-par rounds

ANA Inspiration Tournament Records

ANA Inspiration Golf Course

This tournament is now and always has been played at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif. The ANA Inspiration takes place on the club's Dinah Shore Tournament Course (the club's other two courses are the Arnold Palmer Course and Pete Dye Challenge course), which was designed by Desmond Muirhead and tips out at 7,250 yards. For this tournament, the course is set up as a 6,702-yard par-72.

See our profile of Mission Hills CC for more.
FAQ: What is the Indio Effect?

ANA Inspiration Tournament Trivia and Notes

  • The ANA Inspiration is one of five majors on the LPGA Tour, but it hasn't always been that way. From its founding in 1972 through 1982, what was then called the Colgate Dinah Shore was a big event - but did not have major championship status. Winners from 1983 forward are credited with major championship wins.
  • Among those who won this event before it was elevated to major status were Jane Blalock and Judy Rankin, neither of whom ever won a major championship.
  • LPGA legends Mickey Wright, Kathy Whitworth and Nancy Lopez also won the Dinah Shore - before it was a major. Sandra Post won twice in those pre-major years.
  • The first three-time winner was Amy Alcott, whose third victory came in 1991. Betsy King joined Alcott as a 3-time champion in 1997, and Annika Sorenstam in 2005.
  • After Alcott's second victory, in 1988, she inaugurated what is now known as the "Champions Leap" when she spontaneously rushed off the 18th green and leaped into the greenside lake. That leap has since become a tradition at the tournament (see Why do ANA Inspiration winners jump in the lake? and Ladies of the Lake photo gallery).
  • When Morgan Pressel won this tournament in 2007, she became the youngest-ever LPGA major championship winner. Pressel was about two months shy of her 19th birthday.
  • A couple of LPGA major championship scoring records were set here. The 62 Lorena Ochoa posted in the first round in 2006 is tied for lowest 18-hole score in a women's major; and Dottie Pepper's 19-under in 1999 is tied for the lowest score in relation to par in a women's major.
  • Brittany Lincicome won the 2009 KNC by making eagle on the final hole. It is the only time in either a men's or women's major championship that a final-hole eagle determined the winner.

Recent Winners of the ANA Inspiration

2016 - Lydia Ko
2015 - Brittany Lincicome
2014 - Lexi Thompson
2013 - Inbee Park
2012 - Sun Young Yoo
2011 - Stacy Lewis
2010 - Yani Tseng
View Full List of Past Winners