Sunflowers are flowering plants or angiosperms. Spaces Images/Blend Images/Getty Images


Definition: Angiosperms, or flowering plants, are the most numerous of all the divisions in the Plant Kingdom. With the exception of extreme habitats, angiosperms populate every land biome and aquatic community. They are a major food source for animals and humans, and are a major economic source for the production of various commercial products.

Flowering Plants

The parts of a flowering plant are characterized by two basic systems: a root system and a shoot system.

The root system is typically below ground and serves to acquire nutrients and anchor the plant in the soil. The shoot system consists of the stems, leaves and flowers. These two systems are connected by vascular tissue. Vascular tissues called xylem and phloem are composed of specialized plant cells that run from the root through the shoot. They transport water and nutrients throughout the plant. The flower, a component of the shoot system, is responsible for seed development and reproduction. There are four main flower parts in angiosperms: sepals, petals, stamens, and carpels.

Angiosperms can be woody or herbaceous. Woody plants contain secondary tissue (bark) that surrounds the stem. They can live for several years. Examples of woody plants include trees and some shrubs. Herbaceous plants lack woody stems and can be classified as annuals, biennials and perennials. Annuals live for one year or season, biennials live for two years and perennials come back year after year for many years.

Examples of herbaceous plants include beans, carrots and corn.

Angiosperm Life Cycle

Angiosperms grow and reproduce by a process called alternation of generations. They cycle between an asexual phase and a sexual phase. The asexual phase is called the sporophyte generation as it involves the production of spores.

The sexual phase involves the production of gametes and is called the gametophyte generation. Male and female gametes develop within the plant flower. The male microspores are contained within pollen and develop into sperm. Female megaspores develop into egg cells in the plant ovary. Angiosperms rely on the wind, animals and insects for pollination. Fertilized eggs develop into seeds and the surrounding plant ovary becomes the fruit. Fruit development distinguishes angiosperms from other flowering plants called gymnosperms. Angiosperms can be divided into two main groups depending on seed type. Angiosperms with seeds that possess two seed leaves after germination are called dicots.Those with a single seed leaf are called monocots. Examples of dicots include trees, shrubs, vines and most fruit and vegetable plants. Monocots include grasses, grains, orchids, lilies and palms.

Also Known As: Flowering Plants

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Bailey, Regina. "Angiosperms." ThoughtCo, Nov. 30, 2015, Bailey, Regina. (2015, November 30). Angiosperms. Retrieved from Bailey, Regina. "Angiosperms." ThoughtCo. (accessed October 20, 2017).