Arizona Cardinals Records

Career and Single-Season Records for the Arizona Cardinals Franchise

Arizona Cardinals logo
National Football League

The Arizona Cardinals were originally founded in 1898, and are the oldest continuously run professional football team in the National Football League, and in the United States. It is the only professional football franchise in the country whose existence has spanned over three different centuries (1800s, 1900s, and 2000s).


The franchise was initially founded in Chicago in 1898, and was a charter member of the NFL at its inception in 1920.

After eventually moving from Chicago, the franchise spent time in St. Louis, and Phoenix, before settling in Arizona in 1994.

The franchise has won two total NFL Championships (1925, 1947), both occurring while it was still based in Chicago. The team advanced to the Super Bowl in 2008, but fell to the Pittsburgh Steelers, 27-23. The 2008 Cardinals were just the second 9–7 team to reach the Super Bowl.

In 2012 the Cardinals became the first NFL franchise to lose 700 games since its inception. In 2015, the Cardinals hired Jennifer Welter as an assistant coaching intern for training camp and the preseason; she is believed to be the first female coach in the NFL.

Pat Tillman was a safety for the Cardinals, who left his NFL career and enlisted in the United States Army in June 2002 following the September 11 attacks. He gave his life defending the country, and his bravery was the subject of much positive media attention.

He was honored by the Cardinals, and his number was retired by the organization.

In its century-spanning history, the Cardinals have had several Hall-of-Famers on their roster, including Emmett Smith and Aeneas Williams. Larry Fitzgerald, the franchise’s receiving leader, will be eventually inducted.


Cardinals Single-Season Records

Points Scored: 427 (2008)

Passing Records

Passing Yards: 4,614 (Neil Lomax 1984)
Passing Touchdowns: 30 (Kurt Warner 2008)
Passes Completed: 401 (Kurt Warner 2008)
Passes Attempted: 598 (Kurt Warner 2008)
Longest Completion: 98 Yards (Doug Russell 1932, Ogden Compton 1957, Jim Hart 1972)
Consecutive Games With a Touchdown Pass: 22 (Kurt Warner 2007–2008)

Rushing Records

Rushing Yards: 1,605 (Ottis Anderson 1979)
Rushing Attempts: 337 (Edgerrin James 2006)
Rushing Touchdowns: 14 (John David Crow 1962)
Rushing Touchdowns by a Rookie: 10 (Tim Hightower 2008)
Longest Rushing Attempt: 83 yards (John David Crow 1958)
Rushing Yards Per Game: 100.3 yards (Ottis Anderson 1979)

Receiving Records

Larry Fitzgerald is the franchise’s all-time leader in receptions, receiving yards, receiving touchdowns, and total touchdowns.

Receptions: 103 (Larry Fitzgerald 2005)
Receiving Yards: 1,598 (David Boston 2001)
Receiving Touchdowns: 15 (Sonny Randle 1960)

Return Records

Punt Returns in a Season: 44 (Vai Sikahema 1987)
Longest Punt Returns: 102 yards (Larod Stephens-Howling 2010)

Kicking Records

Field Goals: 40 (Neil Rackers 2005)
Extra Points Made: 53 (Pat Harder 1948)

Cardinals Career Records

Passing Yards: 34,639 (Jim Hart 1966–1983)
Passing Touchdowns: 209 (Jim Hart 1966–1983)
Rushing Yards: 7,999 (Ottis Anderson 1979–1986)
Receptions: 881 (Larry Fitzgerald 2004–2015)
Receiving Yards: 11,880 (Larry Fitzgerald, 2004-2015)
Pass Interceptions: 52 (Larry Wilson 1960–1972)
Field Goals Made: 282 (Jim Bakken 1962–1978)
Points: 1,380 (Jim Bakken 1962–1978)
Total Touchdowns: 89 (Larry Fitzgerald, 2004-2015)
Punt Return Average: 13.7 (Charley Trippi 1947–1955)
Kickoff Return Average: 28.5 (Ollie Matson 1952, 1954–1958)
Punting Average: 44.9 (Jerry Norton 1959–1961)
Sacks: 66.5 Freddie (Joe Nunn 1985–1993)



mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Alder, James. "Arizona Cardinals Records." ThoughtCo, Nov. 13, 2015, Alder, James. (2015, November 13). Arizona Cardinals Records. Retrieved from Alder, James. "Arizona Cardinals Records." ThoughtCo. (accessed December 13, 2017).