Barack Obama's Second Term

The President's Second Term Agenda and Appointments

President Barack Obama was sworn into a second term in the White House on Jan. 20, 2013, after easily defeating Republican Mitt Romney in the 2012 presidential election. Here's a look at the details of Obama's second term, when ends in January 2017.

Obama's Second Term Agenda

President Obama
President Barack Obama pauses as he makes a statement in response to the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting in Newtown, Connecticut. Alex Wong/Getty Images News

Five major items defined Obama's second-term agenda. They included some holdovers from his first term such as the economy, the environment and reining in the nation's growing debt. But in one key area the president's goal for a second term was defined by national tragedy: one of the worst school shootings in the nation's history. Here's a look at Obama's second-term agenda from gun control to global warming.

Obama's Second Term Cabinet Nominees

Hillary Clinton photo
U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton is said to be a potential 2016 presidential candidate. Johannes Simon/Getty Images News

Obama was forced to fill several cabinet positions after top advisers departed the administration after the first term. Some of the most notable resignations were those handed in by Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, Secretary of Defense Leon E. Panetta and Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner after Obama's first term. Find out who was nominated to replaced them and whether they won confirmation from the Senate.

Why Only Two Terms For Obama

Franklin D. Roosevelt
Franklin Delano Roosevelt, pictured here in 1924, is the only president to have served more than two terms in office. Picture courtesy of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library.

During second term in office, Republican critics occasionally raised the conspiracy theory that he was trying to mastermind a way to win a third term in office, even though U.S. presidents are limited to serving only two full terms in the White House under the 22nd Amendment to the Constitution, which reads in part: "No person shall be elected to the office of the President more than twice."