Structure of the Bible: The New Testament Books

Why Study the Structure of the New Testament:

While your spiritual growth is one of the most important aspects of your faith, it helps to understand the structure of the Bible. Many Christian teens know that there is an Old Testament and New Testament, but are not clear on how the Bible is structured or why it is put together the way it is. Understanding the structure of the Bible helps Christian teens put together the concepts of the Bible more clearly.

Here are some details about the structure of the New Testament:

Number of Books in the New Testament:


Types of Books in the New Testament:

There are three types of books in the New Testament. They are the Historical Books, Pauline Epistles, and General Epistles

The Historical Books:

The Historical Books of the New Testament are the four Gospels and Acts. They tell the story of Jesus and His Church. They are the framework by which you can understand the rest of the New Testament, because these books provide the foundation of Jesus’ ministry. These are the Historical Books:

  • Matthew
  • Mark
  • Luke
  • John
  • Acts

The Pauline Epistles:

Epistles are letters, so it follows that these are the letters written by Paul to various churches and individuals. In these letters Paul provides instruction and advice that Christian teens today can follow. These are the Pauline Epistles:

  • To Churches:
    • Romans
    • 1 Corinthians
    • 2 Corinthians
    • Galatians
    • Ephesians
    • Philippians
    • Colossians
    • 1 Thessalonians
    • 2 Thessalonians
  • To Individuals:
    • 1Timothy
    • 2 Timothy
    • Titus
    • Philemon

The General Epistles:

These epistles were letters written to a variety of people and churches by several different authors. They are like the Pauline Epistles in that they provided instruction to those people, and they continue to offer instruction to Christian teens today.

These are the books in the category of General Epistles:

  • Hebrews
  • James
  • 1 Peter
  • 2 Peter
  • 1 John
  • 2 John
  • 3 John
  • Jude
  • Revelation