10 Best Books for Harry Potter Fans

Woman reading a Harry Potter book.

Dids/Pexels

Harry Potter is an international phenomenon, but what do you do when you've read all the books in the series? The Harry Potter series is filled with magic and adventure. The novels are about a young boy who attends an academy for young wizards. Here are a few more books you may enjoy if you liked the Harry Potter books.

01
of 10

A Wizard of Earthsea

Photo from Amazon

"A Wizard of Earthsea" is a famous classic novel by Ursula K. Le Guin. The work is the first in the Earthsea series of novels. The novel is a Bildungsroman, an exploration of Ged's growing up as he goes in search of his identity. He is identified as "one who will be greatest of the wizards of Gont," but he must move beyond his fear.

02
of 10

A Wrinkle in Time

Photo from Amazon

"A Wrinkle in Time" is a fantasy novel by Madeleine L'Engle. A mix of science fiction and fantasy, the book is the first in a series about Meg Murry and her extraordinary family. The novel explores individuality, the importance of language (and how inadequate it is sometimes), and love in a quest across time and space.

03
of 10

Bridge to Terabithia

Photo from Amazon

"Bridge to Terabithia" is a novel by Katherine Paterson. The book is famous for the magical kingdom created by two lonely children who work through their fears and find a place to express their imaginations. Even though the book is beloved for its magic and tragedy, the novel has frequently been banned. Much of the controversy involves the death that takes place, but the book has also been challenged and censored "for offensive language, sexual content, and references to the occult and Satanism."

04
of 10

Enchanted Castle

Photo from Amazon

"Enchanted Castle" is a novel by Edith Nesbit published in 1907. In this book, three children — Jerry, Jimmy, and Kathleen — find a magical castle with an invisible princess. Nesbit explores themes of illusion versus reality with a magic ring, a fake princess, and the Ugly Wuglies — who come alive. "Enchanted Castle" is a fantasy classic.

05
of 10

Lord Foul's Bane

Photo from Amazon

"Lord Foul's Bane" is a novel by Stephen R. Donaldson. The book is the first in the trilogy "The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever." After a series of events, Covenant finds himself in The Land. Donaldson develops his antihero, who is destined to save The Land. He does not believe and he will not hope. But he manages to succeed nonetheless.

06
of 10

Neverending Story

Photo from Amazon

"The Neverending Story" is a famous fantasy novel by Michael Ende. Bastian Balthazar Bux steals a book from a mysterious man in a bookstore. He reads about Fantastica, but then he's transported into the story. He finds he must complete a quest to save Fantastica. The book was first published in Germany with the English translation by Ralph Manheim. "The Neverending Story" is a search for identity, a coming of age, and a quest for reality in the face of illusion and delusion.

07
of 10

The Chronicles of Narnia

Photo from Amazon

"The Chronicles of Narnia" is a series of novels by C.S. Lewis where four children discover a magical land on the other side of an ordinary wardrobe. In "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe," the children have escaped to the countryside because of the war. During the course of this and the ensuing novels, the children experience adventures in Narnia, but each book sees them grow up, with a range of other characters joining them along the way. Although the books are famous and popular, the series has also seen a number of detractors. Lewis has often been criticized for his religious themes, but these books are also controversial for their use of magic and mythological figures.

08
of 10

The Last Unicorn

Photo from Amazon

"The Last Unicorn" is a fantasy novel by Peter S. Beagle. This classic work follows the adventures of a unicorn, a hapless but immortal wizard, and a cat on their quest to find out what happened to the unicorns. The novel explores love, loss, illusion versus reality, humanity, and fate. It offers a mix of mythology and legends. The illusions are all the more poignant because most people in the novel no longer appear to believe in magic or mythical creatures.

09
of 10

The Princess Bride

Photo from Amazon

"The Princess Bride" is a famous fantasy novel by William Goldman. The book is an unforgettable mix of adventure, romance, and comedy. The novel is a frame story where Goldman alludes to an older tale to provide commentary and insight on his own story.

10
of 10

The Hobbit

Photo from Amazon

"The Hobbit" is a novel by J.R.R. Tolkien where you get a chance to meet Bilbo Baggins and follow him on his adventures in Middle-Earth. He is a hobbit, comfortable staying at home in his hole until Gandalf calls him away to a great adventure. In his dangerous quest, he encounters monsters and he discovers a great deal about himself. The hobbit undergoes great changes after seeing so much of the world and experiencing the dangers of Middle-Earth.

Source

"Harry Potter Again Most Challenged." American Libraries, Questia, 2019.