What You Need to Know About the 2018 British Open Tournament

A view of Carnoustie Golf Links from behind the 18th hole.
Carnoustie Links, site of the 2018 British Open. David Cannon/Getty Images

The Open Championship is one of the four major championships of professional golf. It is played every year in July on a links golf course, almost always in Scotland or England. The 2018 British Open will be the 147th time the tournament is played.

  • 2018 British Open Dates: July 19-22
  • Golf Course: Carnoustie Golf Links (Championship Course) in Angus, Scotland
  • Tee times/pairings: See below

The 2018 British Open Golf Course

This will be the eighth time that Carnoustie has been the site of the British Open, and the first since 2007.

Carnoustie was first used as the Open site in 1931, and the winner was Tommy Armour.

Two of the Opens at Carnoustie really stand out. In 1953, Ben Hogan won in his only British Open appearance. That was the year that Hogan won all three major championships in which he played. And in 1999, Paul Lawrie won in a playoff after Jean Van de Velde's epic final-hole collapse.

Other years when Carnoustie was the tournament site (with winners in parentheses) were 1937 (Henry Cotton), 1968 (Gary Player), 1975 (Tom Watson) and 2007 (Padraig Harrington).

The Carnoustie course record is 64, first achieved in 1994 and most recently recorded by Alexander Noren in the European Tour's 2016 Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.

Pairings and Tee Times for the 2018 British Open Field

These are the first- and second-round groupings and tee times, times given are Eastern Standard Times (EST):

1:35 a.m./6:36 a.m. — Sandy Lyle, Martin Kaymer, Andy Sullivan

1:46 a.m./6:47 a.m. — Erik Van Rooyen, Brady Schnell, Matthew Southgate

1:57 a.m./6:58 a.m. — Danny Willett, Emiliano Grillo, Luke List

2:08 a.m./7:09 a.m. — Mark Calcavecchia, Danthai Boonma, Shaun Nooris

2:19 a.m./7:20 a.m. — Kevin Chappell, Oliver Wilson, Eddie Pepperell

2:30 a.m./7:31 a.m. — Ross Fisher, Paul Dunne, Austin Cook

2:41 a.m./7:42 a.m. — Tyrrell Hatton, Patrick Cantlay, Shane Lowry

2:52 a.m./7:53 a.m. — Thomas Pieters, Kevin Kisner, Marcus Kinhult

3:03 a.m./8:04 a.m. — Phil Mickelson, Satoshi Kodaira, Rafa Cabrera Bello

3:14 a.m./8:15 a.m. — Brian Harman, Yuta Ikeda, Andrew Landry

3:25 a.m./8:26 a.m. — Si Woo Kim, Webb Simpson, a-Nicolai Hojgaard

3:36 a.m./8:37 a.m. — Stewart Cink, Brandon Stone, Hideto Tanihara

3:47 a.m./8:48 a.m. — Gary Woodland, Yusaku Miyazato, Sung Kang

4:03 a.m./9:04 a.m. — Ernie Els, Adam Hadwin, Chesson Hadley

4:14 a.m./9:15 a.m. — Pat Perez, Julian Suri, George Coetzee

4:25 a.m./9:26 a.m. — David Duval, Scott Jamieson, Kevin Na

4:36 a.m./9:37 a.m. — Darren Clarke, Bernhard Langer, Retief Goosen

4:47 a.m./9:48 a.m. — Matt Kuchar, Anirban Lahiri, Peter Uihlein

4:58 a.m./9:59 a.m. — Jordan Spieth, Justin Rose, Kiradech Aphibarnrat

5:09 a.m./10:10 a.m. — Jon Rahm, Rickie Fowler, Chris Wood

5:20 a.m./10:21 a.m. — Louis Oosthuizen, Paul Casey, Patrick Reed

5:31 a.m./10:32 a.m. — Tony Finau, Xander Schauffele, Jhonattan Vegas

5:42 a.m./10:43 a.m. — a-Yuxin Lin, Alexander Bjork, Sang Hyun Park

5:53 a.m./10:54 a.m. — James Robinson, Haraldur Magnus, Zander Lombard

6:04 a.m./11:05 a.m. — Kodai Ichihara, Rhys Enoch, Marcus Armitage

6:15 a.m./11:16 a.m. — Sean Crocker, Gavin Green, Ash Turner

6:36 a.m./1:35 a.m. — Brandt Snedeker, a-Sam Locke, Cameron Davis

6:47 a.m./1:46 a.m. — Patton Kizzire, Jonas Blixt, Charles Howell III

6:58 a.m./1:57 a.m. — Charl Schwartzel, Daniel Berger, Tom Lewis

7:09 a.m./2:08 a.m. — Alex Levy, Ryan Moore, Byeong Hun An

7:20 a.m./2:19 a.m. — Michael Hendry, Kelly Kraft, Lee Westwood

7:31 a.m./2:30 a.m. — Henrik Stenson, Tommy Fleetwood, Jimmy Walker

7:42 a.m./2:41 a.m. — Matthew Fitzpatrick, Russell Henley, a-Jovan Rebula

7:53 a.m./2:52 a.m. — Rory McIlroy, Marc Leishman, Thorbjorn Olesen

8:04 a.m./3:03 a.m. — Dustin Johnson, Alex Noren, Charley Hoffman

8:15 a.m./3:14 a.m. — Zach Johnson, Adam Scott, Brendan Steele

8:26 a.m./3:25 a.m. — Justin Thomas, Francesco Molinari, Branden Grace

8:37 a.m./3:36 a.m. — Jason Day, Shota Akiyoshi, Haotong Li

8:48 a.m./3:47 a.m. — Todd Hamilton, Beau Hossler, Jorge Campillo

9:04 a.m./4:03 a.m. — Ryuko Tokimatsu, Chez Reavie, Michael Kim

9:15 a.m./4:14 a.m. — Kyle Stanley, Nicolas Colsaerts, Jens Dantorp

9:26 a.m./4:25 a.m. — Tom Lehman, Dylan Frittelli, Grant Forrest

9:37 a.m./4:36 a.m. — Lucas Herbert, Min Chel Choi, Jason Kokrak

9:48 a.m./4:47 a.m. — Padraig Harrington, Bubba Watson, Matt Wallace

9:59 a.m./4:58 a.m. — Ian Poulter, Cameron Smith, Brooks Koepka

10:10 a.m./5:09 a.m. — Sergio Garcia, Bryson DeChambeau, Shubhankar Sharma

10:21 a.m./5:20 a.m. — Tiger Woods, Hideki Matsuyama, Russell Knox

10:32 a.m./5:31 a.m. — Jason Dufner, Ryan Fox, Keegan Bradley

10:43 a.m./5:42 a.m. — Ryan Armour, Abraham Ander, Masahiro Kawamura

10:54 a.m./5:53 a.m. — Jazz Janewattananond, Fabrizio Zanotti, Jordan Smith

11:05 a.m./6:04 a.m. — Brett Rumford, Masanori Kobayashi, Jack Senior

11:16 a.m./6:15 a.m. — Matt Jones, Thomas Curtis, Bronson Burgoon

How Golfers Qualify to Play in the 2018 Open Championship

Golfers get into the tournament via one of two paths: automatic qualifying, by meeting one of 31 exemption categories; or by playing in and advancing through qualifying tournaments.

Exemption categories that result in automatic qualification include the winners of each of the 10 previous British Opens plus all previous British Open winners younger than 60, along with the Top 10 finishers from the 2017 British Open.

Winners in the past five years at each of the other three majors (The Masters, U.S. Open and PGA Championship) automatically get in, as do each of the past three winners of The Players Championship and BMW PGA Championship.

Members of the 2017 Presidents Cup teams gain berths, as do all the golfers who qualified for the 2017 Tour Championship on the PGA Tour plus the Top 30 golfers on the European Tour's 2017 Race to Dubai list.

Other exemption categories cover golfers in the Top 50 of the world rankings as of Week 21 in 2018; the current Senior British Open winner; the 2017 money leaders on the Asian Tour, Australasia Tour and Sunshine Tour; plus several qualifiers from the Japan Tour money list and the winner of the Japan Open.

Amateur golfers can also make the field by winning the British Amateur, U.S. Open or International European Amateur tournaments.

In all, 156 golfers will be be in the field.

Golfers who fail to meet one of the automatic qualifying criteria can attempt to play their way into the 2018 British Open through Open Qualifying Series tournaments. Fifteen European Tour and US PGA Tour events, plus events in Asia, are designated part of that series. There are also multiple local qualifying tournaments in Britain. A total of 47 spots in the tournament field will be awarded through the qualifying tournament. The official website, opengolf.com, has the full list of qualifying tournaments dates and sites.