Canadian Provincial Mottoes

Canadian flag made out of maple leaves
Lisa Stokes / Getty Images

There are Thirteen provinces in Canada and three territories. The main difference between a territory and a province is that the territories were made by federal law. Provinces were made from the Constitution Act. The provinces of Canada have each adopted a motto which is inscribed on the provincial coat of arms or crest. The territory of Nunavut is the only one of the three territories of Canada with a motto.

  Each territory and province also have their own symbols like birds, flowers, and trees. These are supposed to represent the culture and personality of each area. 


Province / Territory



 Alberta      Fortis et Liber
"Strong and free"
 BC      Splendor Sine Occasu
"Splendour without diminishment"
 Manitoba      Gloriosus et Liber
"Glorious and free"
 New Brunswick      Spem Reduxit
"Hope was restored"
 Newfoundland      Quaerite Prime Regnum Dei
"Seek ye first the Kingdom of God"
 NWT      None
 Nova Scotia      Munit Haec et Altera Vincit
"One defends and the other conquers"
 Nunavut      Nunavut Sanginivut (in Inuktitut)
"Nunavut, our strength"
 Ontario      Ut Incepit Fidelis Sic Permanet
"Loyal she began, loyal she remains"
 PEI      Parva Sub Ingenti
"The small under the protection of the great"
 Quebec      Je me souviens
"I remember"
 Saskatchewan      Multibus E Gentibus Vires
"From many peoples strength"
 Yukon      None