Chart of the Thirteen Original Colonies

Embarkation of the Pilgrims from the Mayflower
Embarkation of the Pilgrims from the Mayflower by Robert Walter Weir. Public Domain / Brooklyn Museum

The British empire settled its first permanent colony in the Americas at Jamestown, Virginia in 1607. This was the but the first of 13 colonies in North America. The 13 colonies can be divided into three regions: New England, Middle, and Southern colonies. The chart below provides additional information including the years of settlement and founders of each.


Colony NameYear FoundedFounded ByBecame Royal Colony
Virginia1607London Company1624
Massachusetts1620 - Plymouth Colony 
1630 - Massachusetts Bay Colony
New Hampshire1623John Wheelwright1679
Maryland1634Lord BaltimoreN/A
Connecticutc. 1635Thomas HookerN/A
Rhode Island1636Roger WilliamsN/A
Delaware1638Peter Minuit and New Sweden CompanyN/A
North Carolina1653Virginians1729
South Carolina1663Eight Nobles with a Royal Charter from Charles II1729
New Jersey1664Lord Berkeley and Sir George Carteret1702
New York1664Duke of York1685
Pennsylvania1682William PennN/A
Georgia1732James Edward Oglethorpe1752