Countries Bordering the Mediterranean Sea

Boats Moored In Sea Against Clear Sky
Justas Markus / EyeEm / Getty Images

The Mediterranean Sea is a large body of water located between Europe to the north, northern Africa to the south, and southwestern Asia to the east. Its total area is 970,000 square miles, and its greatest depth is located off the coast of Greece, where it is around 16,800 feet deep.

Because of the Mediterranean's large size and central location, it borders 21 countries on three continents. Europe has the most nations with coastlines along the Mediterranean Sea.


Algeria covers an area of 919,595 square miles and had a population of 40,969,443 as of mid-2017. Its capital is Algiers.

Egypt is mostly in Africa, but its Sinai Peninsula is in Asia. The country is 386,662 square miles in area with a 2017 population of 97,041,072. The capital is Cairo.

Libya had an estimated population of 6,653,210 in 2017 spread over 679,362 square miles, but about a sixth of its residents are centered in the capital of Tripoli, the nation's most populous city.

Morocco's population as of 2017 was 33,986,655. The country covers an area of 172,414 square miles. Rabat is its capital.

Tunisia, whose capital is Tunis, is the smallest African nation along the Meditteranean in the area, with just  63,170 square miles of territory. Its 2017 population was an estimated 11,403,800.


Israel has 8,019 square miles of territory with a population of 8,299,706 as of 2017. It claims Jerusalem as its capital, although most of the world fails to recognize it as such.

Lebanon had a population of 6,229,794 as of 2017 squeezed into 4,015 square miles. Its capital is Beirut.

Syria covers 714,498 square miles with Damascus as its capital. Its 2017 population was 18,028,549, down from a high of 21,018,834 in 2010 due at least in part to civil war.

Turkey with 302,535 square miles of territory is situated in both Europe and Asia, but 95 percent of its land mass is in Asia, as is its capital, Ankara. As of 2017, the country had a population of 80,845,215.


Albania is 11,099 square miles in area with a 2017 population of 3,047,987. The capital is Tirana.

Bosnia and Herzegovina, formerly part of Yugoslavia, covers an area of 19,767 square miles. Its 2017 population was 3,856,181, and its capital is Sarajevo.

Croatia, also formerly part of Yugoslavia, has 21,851 square miles of territory with its capital at Zagreb. Its 2017 population was 4,292,095.

Cyprus is a 3,572-square-mile island nation surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea. Its population in 2017 was 1,221,549, and its capital is Nicosia.

France has an area of 248,573 square miles and a population of 67,106,161 as of 2017. The capital is Paris.

Greece covers 50,949 square miles and has as its capital the ancient city of Athens. The country's 2017 population was 10,768,477.

Italy had a population of 62,137,802 as of 2017. With its capital at Rome, the country has 116,348 square miles of territory.

At just 122 square miles, Malta is the second smallest nation bordering the Meditteranean Sea. Its 2017 population was 416,338, and the capital is Valletta.

The smallest nation bordering the Meditteranean is the city-state of Monaco, which is just 0.77 square miles, or 2 square kilometers, and had a population of 30,645, according to 2017 figures.

Montenegro, another country that was part of the former Yugoslavia, also borders the sea. Its capital is Podgorica, it has an area of 5,333 square miles, and it had a 2017 population of 642,550.

Slovenia, also formerly part of Yugoslavia, calls Ljubjana its capital. The country is 7,827 square miles and had a 2017 population of 1,972,126.

Spain covers an area of 195,124 square miles with a population of 48,958,159 as of 2017. Its capital is Madrid.

Several Territories Border the Mediterranean

In addition to 21 sovereign countries, several territories also have Mediterranean coastlines:

  • Gibraltar (United Kingdom)
  • Ceuta and Melilla (Spain)
  • Mount Athos (autonomous monastic state)
  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia (sovereign base area, UK)
  • The Gaza Strip (Palestinian National Authority)