The Figure Skating Competition Season Begins With Regionals

U.S. Figure Skating Regional Map
U.S. Figure Skating Regional Map. Permission to Use Photo Granted by Ramsey Baker, U.S. Figure Skating


In the United States, the figure skating competition season begins in the fall with regional figure skating competitions which usually take place in October of each year.

Juvenile, Intermediate, Novice, Junior, and Senior single skaters that place in the top four in regional events advance to sectional competitions.

    The United States is divided into nine different regions:

    • Southwest Pacific Regional- "Southwest"
    • Central Pacific Regional - "Centrals"
    • Northwest Pacific Regional - "Northwests"
    • Southwestern Regional - "Southwesterns"
    • Eastern Great Lakes Regional - "EGL"
    • Upper Great Lakes Regional - "Uppers"
    • South Atlantic Regional - "South Atlantics"
    • North Atlantic Regional - "North Atlantics"
    • New England Regional - "New Englands"
    • U.S. Figure Skating Regional Map

    Separate adult competitions are held each year, so adult figure skaters usually do not compete at regionals. Also, pair skaters and ice dancers at the Juvenile level and above no longer compete at regionals, but advance directly to sectional figure skating events.

    Also Known As:

    Many years ago, regional figure skating events were called sub-sectionals.


    Regional competitions also hold non-qualifying events. These events give lower level figure skaters an experience at participating at a regional, but skaters participating in non-qualifyiing events do not advance to sectionals or nationals.

    To qualify for a regional non-qualifying or qualifying event is an accomplishment in itself since there are very difficult figure skating tests that must be passed before an ice skater is eligible.

    Most serious figure skaters train each year with the goal of participating at a regional figure skating competition.

    Much preparation is involved to get ready for regionals.