Founders Cup Golf Tournament on the LPGA Tour

Karrie Webb of Australia plays a bunker shot on the 15th hole during the third round of the RR Donnelley LPGA Founders Cup at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa on March 17, 2012
Karrie Webb was the first 2-time winner of the LPGA Founders Cup. Scott Halleran/Getty Images

The Bank of Hope Founders Cup is a golf tournament on the LPGA Tour. The first Founders Cup in 2011 was 54 holes, but the tournament has been 72 holes since.

The tournament is named after the 13 women who created the LPGA - in other words, the LPGA's founders. Those founders are honored at each tournament. Also, each year the tournament honors other LPGA "pioneers," golfers and other contributors who helped shape the tour's history.

The Founders Cup was first played in 2011 and takes place in Arizona. In 2017, Bank of Hope became the new title sponsor.

2017 Bank of Hope Founders Cup
Anna Nordqvist broke the tournament scoring record in the third round, then held on for the 2-stroke victory. Nordqvist's 61 in Round 3 lowered the event's 18-hole scoring record by one. She followed with a 68 in the final round, finishing at 25-under 263. In Gee Chun, Ariya Jutanugarn and Stacy Lewis tied for second at 265. It was Nordqvist's seventh career victory on the LPGA Tour.

2016 Tournament
Sei Young Kim opened with a 63 and closed with a 62, and wound up winning the tournament by five shots over runner-up Lydia Ko. Kim's final-round 62 tied the tournament's 18-hole scoring record, and her 261 total lowered the event's 72-hole record by four strokes. Kim also tied the all-time LPGA 72-hole record of 27-under par first set by Annika Sorenstam in 2001.

2015 LPGA Founders Cup
Hyo Joo Kim won her second LPGA title, beating runner-up Stacy Lewis by three shots. It was closer than that, though, as Kim led Lewis by one going to the final hole. Kim birdied and Lewis bogied for the final margin. Kim finished at 21-under 267.

Official website
LPGA tournament site

Founders Cup Records

  • 72 holes: 261 - Sei Young Kim, 2016
  • 18 holes: 61 - Anna Nordqvist, 2017

Founders Cup Golf Course

The LPGA's Founders Cup is played at Wildfire Golf Club in Phoenix, Arizona, and has been for each year of its existence. Wildfire is part of the JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. The club has two courses, the Palmer Course and Faldo Course, and both are used during the tournament.

Founders Cup Trivia and Notes

  • The first Founders Cup, in 2011, had a "virtual purse." That means that players were credited (for the purposes of the tour's money list) with earnings, but, in fact, no players received any money. The entire purse was given to charity.
  • A real purse was added the second time the tournament was played, but the tournament continues to benefit The LPGA Foundation and LPGA-USGA Girls Golf.
  • As noted, the tournament honors the 13 women who founded the LPGA in 1950. Three of those founders - Louise Suggs, Marilyn Smith and Shirley Spork - attended the first Founders Cup in 2011 and received thanks from current LPGA members as each exited the 18th green.
  • In 2014, Karrie Webb - the inaugural winner - won it again, becoming the event's first multiple champion. She did so by shooting 63 in the final round, tying the 18-hole scoring record.
  • Mi Hyang Lee began her first round in 2016 with a 27 over her opening nine, tying the LPGA record for nine holes. She finished the round in 62, setting a new tournament scoring record. In 2017, Anna Nordqvist lowered the 18-hole record to 61 in the third round of her victory.
  • Sei Young Kim tied the LPGA's 72-hole record for strokes under par in 2016, finishing at 27-under 261.

Winners of the LPGA Founders Cup

Bank of Hope Founders Cup
2017 - Anna Nordqvist, 263

JTBC Founders Cup
2016 - Sei Young Kim, 261
2015 - Hyo Joo Kim, 267
2014 - Karrie Webb, 269

RR Donnelley LPGA Founders Cup
2013 - Stacy Lewis, 265
2012 - Yani Tseng, 270
2011 - Karrie Webb, 204