Free Online Language Courses

Arabic

Learn to Read Arabic (http://www.ukindia.mistral.co.uk/zar1.htm) – “These are a few very basic learn-to-read-the-alphabet lessons.”

Babel: Arabic (i-cias.com/babel/arabic/index.htm) – “From your online computer you will have lessons with sound as well as grammar lessons.”

Armenian

Armenian (www.cilicia.com/armo_lesson000.htm ) – “Eastern Armenian lessons online.”

Armenipedia (www.armeniapedia.org/index.php?title=Armenian_Lessons) - "This section has a free Eastern Armenian Lessons Online book, which will enable English speakers to learn Armenian at their own pace.”

Chinese

Rutgers Multimedia Chinese Teaching System (Chinese.rutgers.edu) – Chinese lessons from the State University of New Jersey.


Chinese Tools (www.chinese-tools.com) – "40 online lessons including reading, writing, modern vocabulary, grammar, examples and exercises.”

French

About.com French (french.about.com) – Lessons from the About.com Guide to French.

The French Tutorial (www.frenchtutorial.com) – “The French Tutorial is a web-based step by step lesson covering basics, pronunciation, but also grammar, vocabulary and everyday French. It offers audio support for better oral comprehension, a table of contents and an index for faster searches.”

French Language Course (www.jump-gate.com/languages/french/) – “The following French course is intended to allow you to understand written French (newspapers, articles, magazines, signs on the road during your next trip in France, etc.) and to write a letter to a French friend or correspondent.”

French Assistant (www.frenchassistant.com) – “Our unique site enables you to practice in the background on your computer while you get on with other things!”

Word Prof (www.wordprof.com) – “If you've ever been lost for words in a French exam or when traveling in France our interactive* web site will help you learn all the French vocabulary you need.”

Fluent French (www.signiform.com/french/) – How to achieve fluency once you speak the language.

German

About.com German (german.about.com) – Lessons from the About.com Guide to German.
German for Travelers (www.germanfortravellers.com) – “Hundreds of high quality audio files.”

German for Beginners (www.advanced-schooling.de/free) – Basic language lessons.

German for Everyone (german.languages4everyone.com/courses) - Every course comes with 7 lessons and each lesson is further split into pages, a vocabulary section and an exercises section.

Hebrew

Foundation Stone (foundationstone.com.au) - “A free and easy to use Java application for you to learn Hebrew.”

Biblia Hebrew (www.bible101.org/hebrew) – “Found on this site are notes from a graduate Biblical Hebrew Level I class taught by Dr. David Wallace.”

Alph-Bet (darkwing.uoregon.edu/~ylcflx/Aleph-Bet/) – “The tutorials on this site are designed to reinforce vocabulary and spelling for beginning students of modern Hebrew.”

Learn to Read Hebrew (www.cartoonhebrew.com) – “Fun methods based on pictures to help you to learn to read Hebrew, like yesterday!”

Italian

About.com Italian (Italian.about.com) – Lessons from the About.com Guide to Italian.


Parliamo italiano! (abruzzo2000.com/course) – “An Italian course for English speakers.”

The Italian Electronic Classroom (www.locuta.com/eclass.html) – “Aimed at providing free on-line, useful information on difficult aspects of the Italian language to students, teachers, translators, writers.”

Japanese

About.com Japanese (Japanese.about.com) – Japanese lessons from the About.com Guide.

Free Japanese Lessons (www.freejapaneselessons.com) – “The goal of this page is to teach you the basics in a way that is, hopefully, easy to understand.”

Learn Japanese (www.learn-japanese.net) – “Provides the most comprehensive Japanese lessons on the web.”

Korean

Introduction to Korean (www.unification.org/ucbooks/kintro/toc.htm) – Thirty seven lessons for the beginning speaker.

Let’s Learn Korean (rki.kbs.co.kr/learn_korean/lessons/e_index.htm) – Language lessons especially useful for tourists.

Latin

Free Online Latin Course (www.learnlatin.tk) - Latin course for the Virtual School of Languages.

Portuguese

Short Portuguese Lessons(alfarrabio.di.uminho.pt/spl/index.html) – “A brief introduction to the language for those who might be curious about it.”

Easy Portuguese (www.easyportuguese.com) – Basic language lessons.

Simply Put Portuguese ( simplyput.atspace.com/portuguese) – “the Portuguese course for beginners.”

Russian

Russnet (www.russnet.org) – “various thematic modules for Russian language instruction.”

Master Russian (masterrussian.com) – “free grammar lessons, useful vocabulary words and phrases, helpful tips on learning the Russian language, and hand-picked links to the best Web sites about the Russian language.”

Spanish

About.com Spanish (Spanish.about.com) – Lessons from the Spanish About.com Guide.

Learn Spanish (www.studyspanish.com) – “a free online tutorial”

Learn Spanish (www.ukindia.com/zspan1) – “These lessons will introduce you to a few hundred common words.”

Business Spanish (www.businessspanish.com) – Spanish lessons to help you succeed on the job.

Learn Spanish Online (www.learn-spanish-online.de) – “You can learn Spanish online with this manual - for free.”

SpaniCity (www.spanicity.com) – Basics, vocabulary, and phrases, all with audio.

Spanish for Everyone (spanish.languages4everyone.com) – “Use this unique opportunity with "Spanish for Everyone" to interactively learn and study Spanish on the internet.
 

More

Want more language learning? Take a look at the Peace Corps Language Courses Archive for lessons and audio content designed for international Peace Corps volunteers.

You may also want to check out Word2Word.com and LanguageGuide.org for more links to free language courses.