What Are the French Names of Canadian Provinces and Territories?

The provinces and territories of bilingual Canada have official French names

illustration of Canada's provinces and territories
illustration of Canada's provinces and territories. Ashwenna/Moment/Getty Images

Canada is officially a bilingual country, so all 13 Canadian provinces and territories have both English and French names. Notice which are feminine and which are masculine. Knowing the gender will help you choose the correct definite article and geographical prepositions to use with each province and territory.

In Canada, since 1897, names on official federal government maps have been authorized through a national committee, now known as the Geographical Names Board of Canada (GNBC).

This includes both English and French names since both languages are official in Canada.

10M of 33.5M Canadians Speak French

According to the country's 2011 Census of Population, in 2011, close to 10 million in a total national population of 33.5 million reported being able to conduct a conversation in French, compared with less than 9.6 million in 2006. However, the proportion of those being able to speak French declined slightly to 30.1% in 2011, from 30.7% five years earlier. (The total Canadian population is estimated to have grown to 36.7 in 2017 since the 2011 Canadian census.)

73M of 33.5M Canadians Call French Their Mother Tongue

Approximately 7.3 million Canadians reported French as their mother tongue and 7.9 million spoke French at home at least on a regular basis. The number of Canadians with French as their first official language spoken increased from 7.4 million in 2006 to 7.7 million in 2011.

Canada's francophonie is centered in Quebec, where 6,231,600, or 79.7 percent of Quebecers, consider French their mother tongue. Many more speak French at home: 6,801,890, or 87 percent of the Quebec population. Outside Quebec, three-quarters of those reporting they speak French at home live in New Brunswick or Ontario, while the presence of French has grown in Alberta and British Columbia.

French and English Names of Canada's 13 Provinces and Territories

Les 10 Provinces du Canada

L'Alberta (f) Alberta

La Colombie-Britannique (f.) British Columbia

L'île du Prince-Édouard (f.) Prince Edward Island

Le Manitoba (m.) Manitoba

Le Nouveau-Brunswick (m.) New Brunswick

La Nouvelle-Écosse (f.) Nova Scotia

L'Ontario (m.) Ontario

Le Québec (m.) Quebec

La Saskatchewan (f.) Saskatchewan

La Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (f.) Newfoundland and Labrador

Les 3 Territoires du Canada

Le Nunavut (m.) Nunavut

Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (m.) Northwest Territories

Le Yukon (Territoire) (m.) Yukon (Territory)