Most Important Things to Know About the Country of Georgia

A Geographic Overview of Georgia

A Map of Georgia
A Map of Georgia.

The country of Georgia has been in the news but not many know about Georgia. Take a look at this list of the ten most important things to know about Georgia.

1. Georgia is strategically located in the Caucasus mountains and borders the Black Sea. It is slightly smaller than South Carolina and borders Armenia, Azerbaijan, Russia, and Turkey.

2. The population of Georgia is about 4.6 million people, slightly more than the state of Alabama. Georgia has a declining population growth rate.

3. The country of Georgia is nearly 84% Orthodox Christian. Christianity became the official religion in the fourth century.

4. The capital of Georgia, which is a republic, is T'bilisi. Georgia is has a unicameral parliament (there is only one house of parliament).

5. The leader of Georgia is President Mikheil Saakashvili. He has been president since 2004. In the last election in 2008, he won more than 53% of the vote despite two other contenders.

6. Georgia attained independence from the Soviet Union on April 9, 1991. Prior to that, it was called the Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic.

7. The breakaway regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia in the north have long been outside of the control of the Georgian government. They have their own de-facto governments, are supported by Russia, and Russian troops are stationed there.

8. A mere 1.5% of the Georgian population are ethnic Russians. Major ethnic groups in Georgia include Georgian 83.8%, Azeri 6.5% (from Azerbaijan), and Armenian 5.7%.

9. Georgia, with its pro-western view and developing economy, hopes to join both NATO and the European Union.

10. Georgia has a pleasant Mediterranean-type climate due to its latitudinal location along the Black Sea but suffers from earthquakes as a hazard.