Great Pyramid at Giza

Giza Pyramids
Giza Pyramids. Michal Charvat.


7 Wonders of the Ancient World > Great Pyramid

The Great Pyramid at Giza* was one of the 7 wonders of the ancient world, and is the only one of the 7 wonders still visible today. Built from more than 2,000,000 blocks of stone averaging more than two tons each, the Great Pyramid at Giza was the tallest structure in the world for more than 4300 years. Originally, it stood about 481 feet (146.6 m) high, with sides about 755 feet wide.

The pyramid's outside casing was lost, reducing its overall size. The Great Pyramid was part of a mortuary complex with other, smaller pyramids and tombs.

The Great Pyramid at Giza is also known as the Great Pyramid of Khufu, using the Egyptian name for the pharaoh. The Greeks called Khufu Cheops, so the pyramid is also known as the Great Pyramid of Cheops.

The Great Pyramid of Khufu was built around 2560 B.C. (for the context of that date, see the major events timeline), taking about 20 years to complete. Pharaoh Khufu had it built to be the final resting place for his sarcophagus. Three burial chambers were built, including one in the bedrock.

Archaeologist Sir William Matthew Flinders Petrie investigated the Great Pyramid in 1880.

Reference: National Geographis Pyramid of Khufu.

Also Known As: Great Pyramid of Cheops, Great Pyramid of Khufu

Examples: In photographs, the Pyramid of Cheops usually appears the tallest of the three pyramids at Giza and is the furthest north and east.

*Giza is also spelled Gizeh, as on the inset reference map of the Nile Delta on Maps of Egypt.

The Guide to Honeymoons visited this wonder while on a tour of Egypt. See her photgraph of the Great Pyramid.