HSBC Women's Champions Tournament on the LPGA Tour

Inbee Park of South Korea poses with the trophy on the 18th green after her two-stroke victory at the HSBC Women's Champions at the Sentosa Golf Club on March 8, 2015
Inbee Park won the 2015 HSBC Women's Champions tournament. Scott Halleran/Getty Images

About the HSBC Women's Champions

The HSBC Women's Champions tournament is an event on the LPGA Tour. It has a field of 63 players and there is no cut. The tournament takes place in Singapore and is 72 holes in duration.

The tournament is currently part of the LPGA's early season swing through Australia and Asia. Title sponsor HSBC is a banking and financial services company based in the U.K.

2017 Tournament
Inbee Park made nine birdies in her final round - a final-hole bogey didn't matter - en route to the one-stroke victory.

Park shot 64 in Round 4, a new tournament scoring record. She finished at 19-under 269, one in front of runner-up Ariya Jutanugarn. Park also became the tournament's first two-time winner. Third-round leader Michelle Wie scored 72 in the final round and finished tied for fourth place.

2016 HSBC Womens' Champions
Ha Na Jang won for the second time in a month on the LPGA Tour, taking this tournament title by four strokes. Jang, who earlier won the 2016 Coates Golf Championship, shot 65 in the final round to finish at 19-under 269. That was four strokes ahead of runner-up Pornanong Phatlum, and eight shots better than anyone else.

2015 Tournament
Inbee Park held off Lydia Ko to win the 2015 HSBC Women's Champions by two strokes. That's the same lead Park took into the final round, over Ko and Stacy Lewis. Park and Ko both shot final-round 70s, while Lewis shot 72 and finished four shots back in third place.

It was the 13th career LPGA victory for Park.

Official website
LPGA tournament site

HSBC Women's Champions Records

HSBC Women's Champions Golf Courses

From its debut in 2008 through 2012, the tournament was played at Tanah Merah Country Club in Singapore.

In 2013, the event moved to the Serapong Course at Sentosa Golf Club, part of an island resort. Beginning in 2017, the tournament is played on Sentosa's New Tanjong Course.

HSBC Women's Champions Trivia and Notes

  • The tournament debuted with a field of 78 golfers, but that was lowered to 63 beginning in 2010. The field is filled first with golfers inside the Top 20 in the world rankings as of the tournament date, plus LPGA winners from the current and previous year.
  • Lorena Ochoa won the first HSBC Women's Champions in 2008, and it was the first of her seven victories that season. She still holds the tournament record for 72-hole score (268) and margin of victory (11 strokes over runner-up Annika Sorenstam).
  • There have been two playoffs so far in the young history of the event. In 2012 Angela Stanford emerged the champion over Na Yeon Choi, Jenny Shin and Shanshan Feng. And in 2014 Paula Creamer beat Azahara Munoz.
  • When Ai Miyazato won in 2010, it was her second LPGA win in two weeks (along with the previous Honda LPGA Thailand) and made her the first golfer since Marilynn Smith in 1966 to win the first two tournaments on the LPGA schedule.
  • In 2017, Inbee Park became the tournament's first two-time champion; she previously won in 2015. Park claimed her second win with a tournament-record 64 in the final round.

    Winners of the HSBC Women's Champions


    2017 - Inbee Park, 269
    2016 - Ha Na Jang, 269
    2015 - Inbee Park, 273
    2014 - Paula Creamer-p, 278
    2013 - Stacy Lewis, 273
    2012 - Angela Stanford-p, 278
    2011 - Karrie Webb, 275
    2010 - Ai Miyazato, 278
    2009 - Jiyai Shin, 277
    2008 - Lorena Ochoa, 268