If You Like 'Memoirs of a Geisha', Try...

Historical Romance & Books about Women Like 'Memoirs of a Geisha'

is a book full of history, romance and life in another culture. If you like Memoirs of a Geisha and want more historical books about women in other cultures, here are some books that you are likely to enjoy.

'Snow Flower and the Secret Fan' by Lisa See

'Snow Flower and the Secret Fan' by Lisa See
'Snow Flower and the Secret Fan'. Random House
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See is the story of two girls in nineteenth century China and their friendship from age seven. Lily narrates the story as an old woman, relating how her friendship with Snow Flower grew and then fell apart with a major betrayal.
  • Book Club Discussion Questions

'Beneath a Marble Sky' by John Shors

'Beneath a Marble Sky' by John Shors
'Beneath a Marble Sky'. Penguin

by John Shors is a fictional story surrounding the building of the Taj Mahal. While historians agree that the Taj Mahal was built by an emperor in the seventeenth century who was grieving the loss of his wife, the true details surrounding this story have been lost. Shors imagines them in Beneath a Marble Sky, bringing to life a story of love, war, beauty and tragedy.

  • Read a complete review of by John Shors
  • Beneath a Marble Sky Book Club Discussion Questions

'The Blood of Flowers' by Anita Amirrezvani

'The Blood of Flowers' by Anita Amirrezvani
'The Blood of Flowers'. Little, Brown
Anita Amirrezvani's debut novel, , tells the story of a young woman in 17th-century Iran with a passion for knotting rugs. Her life is thrown into an uproar when her father dies, and she and her mother must depend on the kindness of wealthy relatives and hope that the young woman finds a wealthy husband.
  • Read a complete review of by Anita Amirrezvani
  • Book Club Discussion Questions

'Girl with a Pearl Earring' by Tracy Chevalier

'Girl with a Pearl Earring' by Tracy Chevalier
'Girl with a Pearl Earring'. Penguin
In Girl with a Pearl Earring, Tracy Chevalier writes a fictional story around the creation of Johannes Vermeer's famous painting by the same title. Girl with a Pearl Earring transports readers to the Netherlands in the seventeenth century.
  • Book Club Discussion Questions

'The Constant Princess' by Philippa Gregory

'The Constant Princess' by Philippa Gregory
'The Constant Princess'. Touchstone

If you find England’s King Henry VIII and his six wives fascinating, you’ll want to pick up The Constant Princess or one of Philippa Gregory’s other novels that chronicle the lives of women in the King’s court. More than a historical novel, The Constant Princess is an appealing look at Queen Katherine of Aragon before she married King Henry.

'The Heretic's Daughter' by Kathleen Kent

'The Heretic's Daughter' by Kathleen Kent
'The Heretic's Daughter'. Little, Brown

Kathleen Kent’s debut novel, The Heretic’s Daughter, tells the story of the Salem Witch Trials. It’s a story that’s been told many times before, but Kent manages to bring fresh passion and urgency to the tragic hysteria that gripped New England in 1692.

  • Read a complete review of The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
  • The Heretic's Daughter Book Club Discussion Questions

'The Painter from Shanghai' by Jennifer Cody Epstein

'The Painter from Shanghai' by Jennifer Cody Epstein
'The Painter from Shanghai'. Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
The Painter from Shanghai, from first-time novelist Jennifer Cody Epstein, tells the fictionalized story of Pan Yuliang, a real woman who was one of the most prominent -- and controversial -- painters of the 20th century. Superbly written, Cody Epstein’s novel paints its own haunting and inspiring tale of the woman who went from being sold into prostitution to exhibiting her paintings in the finest salons in Paris.
  • Read a complete review of The Painter from Shanghai by Jennifer Cody Epstein
  • The Painter from Shanghai Book Club Discussion Questions