Jacobean Theatre


English theater during the reign of King James I, from 1603 to 1625. In the history of English drama and literature, the "Jacobean" era of theater featured playwrights such as William Shakespeare, Ben Jonson, Thomas Dekker, and John Webster.

Other Periods in English Theatre History:

The previous era was known as Elizabethan Theatre. (The reign of Queen Elizabeth lasted from 1558 - 1603).

The era after the Jacobean period is known as Caroline Theater which lasted from 1625 until the mid-1640s when King Charles I was overthrown).