A Timeline of Jane Austen Works

Jane Austen
traveler1116 / Getty Images

Jane Austen is recognized as one of the most important English writers of her time. She's probably most famous for her novel Pride and Prejudice, but others like Mansfield Park, are very popular. Her books largely dealt with themes of love and a woman's role in the home. While many readers try to relegate Austen to the realms of early "chick lit," her books are important to the literary canon. Austen is one of the most important British authors

While today her novel's are often considered by some to be part of the romance genre, Austen's books actually helped popularize the idea of marrying for love in the first place. During Austen's time marriage was more of a business contract, couples would decide to get married based on things like each other's economic class. As one can imagine marriages like this weren't always the best for women. Marriages built on love rather than for business reasons were a common plot point in many of Austen's novels. Austen's novels also pointed out the many ways women of her time depended on their ability to "marry well".  Women rarely worked during Austen's job and the few jobs they did hold were often service positions like cook or governess. Women relied on their husband's employment to provide for any family they might have. 

Austen was a trailblazer in multiple ways, she chose not to marry and managed to earn money with her writing. While many artists aren't appreciated in their lifetime, Austen was a popular author within her own life. Her books afforded her the ability not to need a husband to rely on. Her list of works is rather short by comparison but this is most likely due to her life being cut short due to an unknown illness.

Jane Austen's  Works


  • 1811 - Sense and Sensibility
  • 1813 - Pride and Prejudice
  • 1814 - Mansfield Park
  • 1815 - Emma
  • 1818 - Northanger Abbey (posthumous)
  • 1818 - Persuasion (posthumous)

Short fiction

  • 1794, 1805 - Lady Susan

Unfinished fiction

  • 1804 - The Watsons
  • 1817 - Sanditon

Other works

  • 1793, 1800 - Sir Charles Grandison
  • 1815 - Plan of a Novel
  • Poems
  • Prayers
  • Letters

Juvenilia - Volume the First

The Juvenilia is comprised of several notebooks Jane Austen wrote during her youth. 

  • Frederic & Elfrida
  • Jack & Alice
  • Edgar & Emma
  • Henry and Eliza
  • The Adventures of Mr. Harley
  • Sir William Mountague
  • Memoirs of Mr. Clifford
  • The Beautifull Cassandra
  • Amelia Webster
  • The Visit
  • The Mystery
  • The Three Sisters
  • A beautiful description
  • The generous Curate
  • Ode to Pity

Juvenilia - Volume the Second

  • Love and Friendship
  • Lesley Castle
  • The History of England
  • A Collection of Letters
  • The female philosopher
  • The first Act of a Comedy
  • A Letter from a Young Lady
  • A Tour through Wales
  • A Tale

Juvenilia - Volume the Third

  • Evelyn
  • Catharine, or the Bower
mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Lombardi, Esther. "A Timeline of Jane Austen Works." ThoughtCo, Feb. 16, 2021, thoughtco.com/jane-austen-list-of-works-738684. Lombardi, Esther. (2021, February 16). A Timeline of Jane Austen Works. Retrieved from https://www.thoughtco.com/jane-austen-list-of-works-738684 Lombardi, Esther. "A Timeline of Jane Austen Works." ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/jane-austen-list-of-works-738684 (accessed June 5, 2023).