Kids' Star Wars Books - Fiction, Nonfiction, Humor, LEGO

Star Wars books for kids seem to be everywhere. You can find large books of facts, short books for beginning readers, chapter books, a deluxe picture book for all ages and Star Wars LEGO books.  What follows is a small sampling of what’s available in kids’ books for the Star Wars fan. It includes several big, beautiful nonfiction reference books that Star Wars fans of all ages, from younger children to teens to adults, will enjoy, fiction for middle grade and beginning readers, and an informational book on Star Wars monsters. I was delighted to find a great many Star Wars books at my local public library, as well as local bookstores.

01
of 09

Star Wars: Finn & the First Order

Star Wars Finn & the First Order - Children's Book Cover
Star Wars: Finn & the First Order. Disney-Lucasfilm Press, an imprint of Disney Book Group

Star Wars Finn & the First Order is a level 2 book for young independent readers that is also a good read aloud to share with Star Wars fans who aren't reading yet. This exciting story of how Finn, a stormtrooper for the First Order, becomes a fighter for the Resistance was written by Elizabeth Schaeffer and illustrated by Brian Rood. While the publisher recommends the book for readers in grades K-2, I think it will be most popular with 7 to 9 year old independent readers in grades 2-4. (Disney-Lucasfilm Press, an imprint of Disney Book Group, 2015. ISBN: 9781484758625)

02
of 09

Star Wars: The Adventures of Luke Skywalker, Jedi Knight

Star Wars, The Adventures of Luke Skywalker, Jedi Knight - book cover
Star Wars: The Adventures of Luke Skywalker, Jedi Knight. Disney-Lucasfilm Press, an imprint of Disney Book Group

The deluxe picture book Star Wars: The Adventures of Luke Skywalker, Jedi Knight is not just for younger kids. With 64 pages of artwork created for the original Star Wars movie trilogy by Academy award-winning concept artist Ralph McQuarrie, and a storyline that encompasses the entire trilogy (A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi), this is a book that will delight Star Wars fans of all ages.

Author Tony DiTerlizzi has written a number of children's books, including The Spiderwick Chronicles. He is a longtime fan of the Star Wars movies. For more about his approach to writing the book, watch the video with Tony DiTerlizzi about his book Star Wars: The Adventures of Luke Skywalker, Jedi Knight.

(Disney-Lucasfilm Press, an imprint of Disney Book Group, 2014. ISBN: 9781484706688)

Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

03
of 09

Star Wars: What Makes A Monster?

SW_Monsters.jpg
DK Publishing

Star Wars: What Makes A Monster? (DK Adventures) is a very entertaining, well-illustrated informational book about the various monsters in the Star Wars movies. The 128-page book includes colorful photos from Star Wars movies and other illustrations on every page. After an overview of monsters in the galaxy, author Adam Bray focuses on: Creatures of the Deep, Land Monsters, Monsters as Pets, Space Monsters, Winged Beats, Arena Beasts, Monsters as Weapons, Creepy Crawlies, and Working Monsters.

The book includes a quiz, glossary and index.  I recommend Star Wars: What Makes A Monster? for ages 8 to 11. The book’s format – lots of photos, brief coverage of a multitude of topics – will engage the interest of even the young fan s who are reluctant readers. (DK Publishing, 2014. ISBN: 9781465419903 -hardcover), 9781465419910 - paperback).

Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

04
of 09

LEGO Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary

SW-Lego_v5.jpg
DK Publishing

At the beginning of the updated and expanded Lego Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary is an illustrated timeline of all of the LEGO Star Wars sets released between 1999 and 2014.  The large number of sets reflects the popularity of Star Wars, LEGO and LEGO Star Wars. The book is divided into four chapters: Prequel Trilogy & Clone Wars, Original Trilogy & Expanded Universe, Specialist Sets and Beyond the Brick. This last chapter includes information about designing the sets, TV specials, video games and more.  The authors of the book are Sion Beeroft and Jason Fry.

Lego Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary is illustrated with high quality photographs of LEGO Star Wars characters, vehicles and scenes and includes a 12-page Minifigure Gallery of hundreds of Star Wars LEGO figures. This large 144-page book is for 8 to 14 year old Star Wars fans who already enjoy reenacting Star Wars episodes and developing their own stories using LEGO Star Wars sets and want to learn more about their sets.  However, be warned; after seeing this book and learning about all of the available sets, your children may try to convince you they need to greatly expand their Star Wars LEGO holdings. (DK Publishing, originally published in 2009; expanded version published in 2014, ISBN: 9781465419217)

Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

05
of 09

Star Wars: Jedi Academy

TP-jedi-academy.jpg
Scholastic

Fans of Star Wars and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will love Star Wars: Jedi Academy, the first in a new series, and so will reluctant readers. The book by Jeffrey Brown is the illustrated journal of Roan Novachez and covers Ryan’s account of his first year at Jedi Academy. Ryan’s account jumps around in a way that will keep readers’ attention and is full of humorous tales, Roan’s comic strips and his other drawings. 

I recommend the book for kids 8 to 12, grades 3 to 7. For more information, see my overview of the Star Wars: Jedi Academy Series.  (Scholastic, 2013. ISBN: 9780545505178)

06
of 09

Star Wars: Complete Vehicles

vehicles_5v.jpg
DK Publishing

Star Wars: Complete Vehicles is a large (10½" X 12") and comprehensive reference book, with 208 pages, a glossary and a four-page index. The book features information about and illustrations of a great many vehicles, with some from the Old Republic era and many from the Galactic Empire. There is also a 12-page illustrated Vehicle Technical Data section.

Other highlights include: large cross-section illustrations and several four-panel foldout illustrations. The meticulous artwork is primarily by artists Hans Jenssen and Richard Chasemore, and the book features a double-page spread on each, with examples of their initial sketches and information about their process of creating illustrations. This book would make an excellent gift for the dedicated Star Wars fan from age 7 to adult. (DK Publishing, 2013. ISBN: 9781465408747)

Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

07
of 09

Star Wars Rebels: Zeb to the Rescue

SW-rebels_v5.jpg
Disney Book Group

Even children who are just beginning to read can enjoy a Star Wars story with Star Wars Rebels: Zeb to the Rescue, a World of Reading Level 1 early reader. The book features short sentences, one and two syllable words, considerable word repetition and colorful illustrations that provide visual clues to the brief text. The 32-page paperback book is an adaptation of an episode from the Disney Star Wars Rebels XD animated series.

The book's main character, Zeb, is a rebel who “fights for what is right.”  When Zeb comes upon troopers stealing from a man and a droid, he is eager to help. Zeb fights trooper after trooper, but refuses money from the grateful man and droid and only accepts some fruit.  The simplicity of the story and the striking artwork from the series make Star Wars Rebels: Zeb to the Rescue a good choice for the beginning reader ages 5 to 7. (Disney – LucasFilm Press, an imprint of Disney Book Group, 2014. ISBN: 9781484702710)

08
of 09

Star Wars: The Complete Visual Dictionary

Yoda_v5.jpg
DK Publishing

The subtitle of Star Wars: The Complete Visual Dictionary describes the book as The Ultimate Guide to Characters and Creatures from the Entire Star Wars Saga. This is a good description of the 272-page book.  At a little over 10” x 12,” the book is well-suited to showcase its clear and striking illustrations.

Rather than being organized in alphabetical order like a picture dictionary, the book is organized by episodes, beginning with Episode 1. The book is filled with finely detailed color photographs of hundreds of characters and objects, each accompanied by a description, from a phrase to a brief paragraph. There are even cutaway views of some objects, from lightsabers to the inside of R2-D2. The contents include characters, planets and equipment, highlighted in hundreds of film scenes and other shots.

In addition to the detailed table of contents, there is an index.  There is also a glossary. I’d recommend Star Wars: The Complete Visual Dictionary for ages 9 to 14 and for dedicated Star Wars fan from age 7 to adult. (DK Publishing, 2006. ISBN: 9780756622381)

Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

09
of 09

Additional Recommended Children’s Books

The Origami Yoda Series by Tom Angleberger, which begins with The Strange Case of Origami Yoda, is a very entertaining series with a Star Wars connection. Art2-D2's Guide to Folding and Doodling, the companion Origami Yoda activity book, will appeal to Star Wars fans who enjoy doodling and making things.

There are two fantasy series by Rick Riordan that I particularly recommend for middle grade readers. They are Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The Heroes of Olympus. For kids who enjoy funny books, see Funny Boys! Books for Fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, an annotated list of recommended books.