Black Label Society - Kings Of Damnation: '98-'04 Review

The Bottom Line

Excellent greatest hits package spanning the entire career of one of the best guitarists in the business.

Compare Prices


  • Songs span his entire career.
  • Masterful guitar work from one of the best axemen in the business.
  • Includes two previously unreleased tracks for completists.


  • None


  • Album has 19 tracks and clocks in at 72 minutes.
  • Chronicles his releases on his former label, Spitfire Records.
  • Wylde is one of the most accomplished and respected guitarists in metal.

Guide Review - Black Label Society - Kings Of Damnation: '98-'04

After joining Ozzy Osbourne's band at the age of 19, Zakk Wylde went out on his own. His first band was Pride and Glory, who only released one album. Two songs from that album are featured here. After releasing a solo acoustic album, Wylde formed Black Label Society. The rest of the songs on this album are from BLS.

When listening to songs from several different albums you really notice the diversity. Of course the songs are going to be guitar based, but they range from acoustic ballads to full out metal rampages. Wylde's singing voice doesn't have a huge range, but he gets the job done with plenty of emotion.

The compilation includes songs from 1998's Sonic Brew, 2000's Stronger Than Death, 2002's 1919 Eternal 2003's The Blessed Hellride and 2004's Hangover Music Vol. VI.

 The album's first four tracks are pre-BLS songs. Two are Pride & Glory songs, the others are Wylde solo material. There are also a couple of previously unreleased tracks on the album.

The bonus enhanced edition includes numerous cover songs such as Ozzy Osbourne's "No More Tears," Procol Harem's "Whiter Shade Of Pale," Neil Young's "Heart Of Gold," Black Sabbath's "Snowblind" and "The Wizard" and Led Zeppelin's "In My Time Of Dying."

This album is a good representation of Wylde and his songwriting and guitar playing ability. It's an excellent introduction for new fans and his existing fans will want it for the two new tracks.

Black Label Society - Kings of Damnation: '98-'04 Track Listing

Losin' Your Mind (Pride & Glory)
Horse Called War (Pride & Glory)
Between Heaven and Hell (Zakk Wylde)
Sold My Soul (Zakk Wylde)
Bored to Tears
Bleed for Me
Counterfeit God
Stronger Than Death
Demise of Sanity
We Live No More
The Blessed Hellride
Crazy Or High
House Of Doom
Doomsday Inc.

Compare Prices