Learning About Chakras

Introducing the Seven Major Chakras

Chakra Colored Pinwheel
Chakra Colored Pinwheel. Miguel Rosan / Getty Images

Chakra: Index | Basics | Symbols/Names | Primary 7 | Exercises | Foods | Meditations

What is a Chakra Exactly?
Chakras are our energy centers. They are the openings for life energy to flow into and out of our aura. Their function is to vitalize the physical body and to bring about the development of our self-consciousness. They are associated with our physical, mental and emotional interactions.

What Do Chakras Look Like?

Chakras have been depicted as a funnel of sorts with smaller funnels within the funnel.
They are also often referred to as looking like lotus flowers. I have intuitively viewed the intake of individual chakras as appearing similar to the blades of a fan or windmill in circular motion.

Introducing the Seven Major Chakras

  1. Root Chakra
  2. Sacral Chakra
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. Heart Chakra
  5. Throat Chakra
  6. Brow (Third-Eye) Chakra
  7. Crown Chakra
The links above focus on each individual chakra. You will find out the colors associated with each chakra, learn the physical location of them, explore what purposes they serve, discover which physical dysfunction's are associated with each chakra, learn what types of information is stored in each of the chakras, and more. I hope your will find this to be an educational and enjoyable journey.