LPGA Kingsmill Championship Golf Tournament

Cristie Kerr wins the 2009 Kingsmill Championship
Cristie Kerr has three wins at the Kingsmill Championship. Above, she celebrates after sinking the last putt of her win in 2009. Hunter Martin / Getty Images

The Kingsmill Championship is an annual tournament on the LPGA Tour schedule that returned in 2012 following a two-year absence. This event had been considered one of the best and most important (outside of the majors) on the LPGA schedule. But in 2009, Anheuser-Busch, parent company of then-title sponsor Michelob, decided to restrict its sponsorship spending, and withdrew its support. That led to a 2-year hiatus.

But the Kingsmill Championship returned in 2012 to the delight of fans and especially LPGA golfers.

The Kingsmill Championship is played over 72 holes.

2018 Kingsmill Championship
Ariya Jutanugarn took the title in a playoff, becoming just the second golfer to win this tournament two or more times. (Cristie Kerr is the leader with three wins). In a tournament shortened to 54 holes by rain, Jutanugarn, In Gee Chun and Nasa Hataoka finished tied at 14-under 199. Chun was eliminated on the first playoff hole. On the second extra hole, Jutanugarn won it with a birdie to Nasaoka's par.

2017 Tournament
Lexi Thompson set a tournament scoring record and won by five strokes. It was Thompson's eighth career win on the LPGA Tour. Her total of 264 lowered by one stroke the 72-hole event scoring record, besting the 265 set by Annika Sorenstam in 2008. Thompson finished five shots in front of runner-up In Gee Chun.

2016 Kingsmill Championship
Ariya Jutanugarn won for the second consecutive tournament on the LPGA Tour. At the tour's previous stop, the Yokohama Tire Classic, Jutanugarn, age 20, recorded her first LPGA win and became the first-ever Thai golfer to win on the LPGA Tour. At the Kingsmill, she finished with a round of 67 and at 14-under 270.

That was one stroke ahead of runner-up Su Oh.

Official website
LPGA tournament site

Kingsmill Championship Records:

  • 18 holes: 62 - Jiyai Shin, 2012; In Gee Chun, 2016
  • 72 holes: 264 - Lexi Thompson, 2017

Kingsmill Championship Golf Course:

Well, "Kingsmill" is part of the tournament name, and always has been, so that's a clue. This tournament has always been played at the Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia. The resort's River Course is the one used for this tournament.

Kingsmill Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • Annika Sorenstam set the tournament's 72-hole scoring record in winning the 2008 tournament, which was Sorenstam's 72nd victory on the LPGA Tour. And it was also her last. She retired at the end of that year.
  • Jiyai Shin and Paula Creamer engaged in the second-longest sudden-death playoff in LPGA Tour history at the 2012 Kingsmill Championship. Shin finally won the ninth extra hole.
  • Prior to the first LPGA tournament in 2003, Kingsmill Resort was the site of the Michelob Championship at Kingsmill, a PGA Tour event from 1981-2002.
  • Sorenstam's win in 2008 and Karrie Webb's in 2006 were both by seven strokes, the tournament record for margin of victory.
  • Cristie Kerr is the tournament leader in wins with three. Ariya Jutanugarn is, so far, the only other golfer with multiple wins.

    Winners of the Kingsmill Championship:

    (p-playoff; w-shortened to 54 holes by weather)

    2018 - Ariya Jutanugarn-p-w, 199
    2017 - Lexi Thompson, 274
    2016 - Ariya Jutanugarn, 270
    2015 - Minjee Lee, 269
    2014 - Lizette Salas, 271
    2013 - Cristi Kerr-p, 272
    2012 - Jiyai Shin-p, 268
    2011 - Not played
    2010 - Not played

    Michelob Ultra Open at Kingsmill
    2009 - Cristie Kerr, 268
    2008 - Annika Sorenstam, 265
    2007 - Suzann Pettersen-p, 274
    2006 - Karrie Webb, 270
    2005 - Cristie Kerr, 276
    2004 - Se Ri Pak, 275

    Michelob Light Open at Kingsmill
    2003 - Grace Park, 275