LPGA Tour Walmart NW Arkansas Championship Golf Tournament

So Yeon Ryu hits her tee shot on the 13th hole during the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship tournament in 2017.
So Yeon Ryu had a recordsetting win in 2017 at the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. Drew Hallowell/Getty Images  

This tournament has been part of the LPGA Tour schedule (under several different names) since 2007. Walmart has been the title sponsor since 2011. The tournament is played in Rogers, Ark., which is adjacent to Bentonville, the corporate home of Walmart.

The tournament uses a 54-hole, stroke play format. The tournament has typically had both a title sponsor and a presenting sponsor, and the current full name of the event is Walmart NW Arkansas Championship Presented by P&G.

2018 Walmart NW Arkansas Championship

  • When: June 22-24
  • Where: Pinnacle Country Club in Rogers, Arkansas

2017 Tournament
So Yeon Ryu set the tournament's 18-hole scoring record with a 61 in the second round and went on to win with a tournament-record total score of 195. That total, which was 18-under par, lowered by one the record set in 2016 by Lydia Ko. Ryu closed with a 67 and beat runners-up Amy Yang and Moriya Jutanugarn by two strokes.

2016 Walmart NW Arkansas Championship
Lydia Ko tied the tournament's 18-hole scoring record with a 62 in the second round and went on to a safe victory. It was her 13th career win on the LPGA Tour. Despite a bogey on the final hole, Ko set a new 54-hole scoring record at this event, finishing at 17-under 196. Candie Kung and Morgan Pressel tied for second play, three strokes behind Ko.

Official website
LPGA tournament site

Walmart NW Arkansas Championship Scoring Records:

  • 18 holes: 61 - So Yeon Ryu, 2017
  • 54 holes: 196 - Lydia Ko, 2016

Walmart NW Arkansas Championship Golf Course:

The tournament is played at Pinnacle Country Club in Rogers, Arkansas, which has been the site every year of the event's history. The course opened in 1989 and is played as a par-71 by the LPGA.

Walmart NW Arkansas Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • The tournament debuted in 2007 and Stacy Lewis, then an amateur at the University of Arkansas, took the first-round lead with a 65. But heavy rains washed out the rest of the tournament. Lewis was called the winner and presented with the trophy. But LPGA rules require a tournament complete at least 36 holes to be considered "official," therefore, Lewis is not credited in LPGA records with a tour victory for this win.
  • The two golfers who first set the tournament's 18-hole scoring record recorded their 62s one day apart. Angela Park went first, shooting 62 in the second round in 2008. The next day, Jane Park (no relation) added the second 62. In 2016, two more golfers tied that record, and once again shot their 62s one day apart: Ayako Uehara in Round 1 and Lydia Ko in Round 2.
  • The 18-hole tournament record was lowered to 61 by So Yeon Ryu in 2017.
  • Jiyai Shin shot a final round of 64 in 2009, then beat Angela Stanford and Sun Young Yoo in a playoff.

Winners of the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship:

(p - won playoff)

Walmart NW Arkansas Championship
2017 - So Yeon Ryu, 195
2016 - Lydia Ko, 196
2015 - Na Yeon Choi, 198
2014 - Stacy Lewis, 201
2013 - Inbee Park-p, 201
2012 - Ai Miyazato, 201
2011 - Yani Tseng-p, 201

P&G NW Arkansas Championship
2010 - Yani Tseng, 200

P&G NW Arkansas Championship
2009 - Jiyai Shin-p, 204
2008 - Seon Hwa Lee, 201

LPGA NW Arkansas Championship
2007 - Stacy Lewis, 65 (shortened to 18 holes by rain, therefore not counted as official tournament)