The Meijer LPGA Classic Golf Tournament

Brooke Henderson is pictured with her trophy from the 2017 Meijer LPGA Classic.
Brooke Henderson shows off the Meijer LPGA Classic trophy she won in 2017. Stacy Revere/Getty Images 

The Meijer LPGA Classic is a tournament on the LPGA Tour for top professional women golfers. It has been played annually since 2014 and usually takes place in June.

The tournament format is 72 holes of stroke play with a cut following the second round. A playoff, if necessary, uses a sudden-death format. The field size is 144 golfers.

The title sponsor, Meijer, is a grocer and retailer in the Midwest.

The tournament benefits Simply Give, which assists food banks and pantries and is one of Meijer's companywide philanthropic efforts.

2019 Tournament Dates/Site

  • When: June 13-16, 2019
  • Where: Blythefield Country Club in Grand Rapids, Mich.

2018 Meijer LPGA Classic Tournament

So Yeon Ryu fired a final-round score of 67 and won by two strokes over runner-up Caroline Masson. Ryu finished at 21-under 267. It was her sixth career win on the LPGA Tour.

Winners of the Meijer LPGA Classic

In 2017, Brooke Henderson fired a 63 in the first round and went on to win by two strokes. Henderson finished at 21-under 263, two ahead of runners-up Michelle Wie and defending champ Lexi Thompson. It was the fourth career victory on the LPGA Tour for Henderson. 

The full list of tournament champions since the tournament was first played in 2014 is as follows:

2018So Yeon Ryu267
2017Brooke Henderson263
2016Sei-Young Kim267
2015Lexi Thompson266
2014Mirim Lee270

The Meijer LPGA Classic Golf Course

The tournament is played at Blythefield Country Club, located on the northeast side of Grand Rapids, Mich. For the LPGA Tour event, Blythefield is set up around 6,450 yards and a par-71.

The golf course opened in 1929 and major championship winners and Hall-of-Famers Walter Hagen and Horton Smith were part of the foursome that inaugurated play.

In 1961, The PGA Tour Western Open was played at Bythefield and Arnold Palmer was the winner.

Blythefield Country Club is a private club. The golf course is open only to members and guests of  members.

Scoring Records at the Meijer LPGA Classic

The lowest winning score in the tournament's short history to date is the 263 that Brooke Henderson posted in 2017. The record for lowest 18-hole score is 62, a score first posted by Ariya Jutanugarn in the 2018 tournament.

Note that there has also been a 61 carded at the Meijer, by Lee-Anne Pace in the third round of the 2017 tournament. However, due to bad weather, one of the golf course's par-5 holes was shortened to a par-3 for that round, resulting in a par-69 golf course.

Tournament Facts and Figures

  • The tournament in each of its first four years produced close, exciting finishes. Two times it was decided in a playoff, and the largest margin of victory was only two strokes.
  • At the inaugural tournament in 2014, Mirim Lee claimed her first LPGA victory. And she did it by beating future Hall-of-Famer Inbee Park in a playoff with a second-hole birdie.
  • The second playoff happened in 2016, when Sei-Young Kim defeated Carlota Ciganda with a birdie on the first extra hole.
  • During tournament week each year the Meijer LPGA Classic is also home to an event called Grande Taste. It takes place over several days and includes food and beverage samples from local restaurants and breweries, as well as from the Meijer grocery store chain's vendors. Tickets are available on the tournament website, as well as tickets that combine Grand Taste and golf tournament admission.

Key Takeaways

  • Tour Name: Meijer LPGA Classic for Simply Give
  • Description: A 72-hole golf tournament for the world's best women golf professionals that is part of the LPGA Tour.
  • Past Winners: So Yeon Ryu, Brooke Henderson, Lexi Thompson
  • Location: Blythefield Country Club in Grand Rapids, Mich.