Michael Crichton Books

Complete Michael Crichton Book List by Year

Michael Crichton's books were fast paced, often cautionary and sometimes controversial. Wondering what books Michael Crichton wrote? This complete list of Michael Crichton books is organized by the year they were published and includes books Crichton wrote under the pen names John Lange, Jeffrey Hudson, and Michael Douglas.

of 31

1966 - 'Odds On' - As John Lange

'Odds On' by John Lange
'Odds On'. Signet

Odds On is about a robbery planned with the help of a computer program.

of 31

1967 - 'Scratch One' - As John Lange

Scratch One follows a man who the CIA and a criminal gang mistake as an assassin and thus try to pursue.

of 31

1968 - 'Easy Go' - As John Lange

'Easy Go' by John Lange
'Easy Go'. Signet

Easy Go is about an Egyptologist who discovers a secret message about a hidden tomb in some hieroglyphics.

of 31

1968 - 'A Case of Need' - As Jeffrey Hudson

'A Case of Need' by Michael Crichton as Jeffrey Hudson
'A Case of Need'.

A Case of Need is a medical thriller about a pathologist. It won an Edgar Award in 1969.

of 31

1969 - 'The Andromeda Strain'

'The Andromeda Strain' by Michael Crichton
'The Andromeda Strain'. HarperCollins

The Andromeda Strain is a thriller about a team of scientists who are investigating a deadly extraterrestrial microorganism that rapidly and fatally clots human blood.

of 31

1969 - 'The Venom Business' - As John Lange

'The Venom Business' by John Lange
'The Venom Business'. World Pub. Co

The Venom Business is about a smuggler in Mexico who ships snakes.

of 31

1969 - 'Zero Cool' - As John Lange

'Zero Cool' by John Lange
'Zero Cool'. Dorchester Publishing Company, Inc.

Zero Cool is about a man who gets caught in a fight over a precious artifact while he is on vacation in Spain.

of 31

1970 - 'Five Patients'

'Five Patients' by Michael Crichton
'Five Patients'. Random House

This nonfiction book recounts Crichton's experience at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston in the late 1960s.

of 31

1970 - 'Grave Descend' - As John Lange

'Grave Descend' by John Lange
'Grave Descend'. Dorchester Publishing Company

Grave Descend is a mystery about a deep sea diver in Jamaica.

of 31

1970 -'Drug of Choice' - As John Lange

'Drug of Choice' by John Lange
'Drug of Choice'. Signet

In Drug of Choice, a corporation offers mankind a one way trip to paradise -- at a cost.

of 31

1970 - 'Dealing: Or the Berkeley-to-Boston Forty-Brick Lost-Bag Blues'

'Dealing' by Michael Douglas
'Dealing'. Knopf

Dealing was written by Crichton with his brother, Douglas Crichton, and published under the pen name "Michael Douglas."

of 31

1972 - 'The Terminal Man'

'The Terminal Man' by Michael Crichton
'The Terminal Man'. HarperCollins

The Terminal Man is a thriller about mind control. The main character, Henry Benson, is scheduled for an operation to have electrodes and a mini-computer implanted in his brain to control his seizures.

of 31

1972 - 'Binary' - As John Lange

'Binary' by John Lange
'Binary'. Knopf

Binary is about a middle-class small businessman who decides to assassinate the President by stealing an army shipment of the two chemicals that form a deadly nerve agent.

of 31

1975 - 'The Great Train Robbery'

'The Great Train Robbery' by Michael Crichton
'The Great Train Robbery'. Avon

This book is about the Great Gold Robbery of 1855 and takes place in London.

of 31

1976 - 'Eaters of the Dead'

'Eaters of the Dead' by Michael Crichton
'Eaters of the Dead'. HarperCollins

Eaters of the Dead is about a Muslim in the 10th century who travels with a group of Vikings to their settlement.

of 31

1977 - 'Jasper Johns'

'Jasper Johns' by Michael Crichton
'Jasper Johns'. Harry N. Abrams, Inc.
Jasper Johns is a nonfiction catalog about the artist by that name. The book contains black and white and color pictures of Johns' work. Crichton knew Johns and collected some of his art, which is why he agreed to write the catalog.
of 31

1980 - 'Congo'

'Congo' by Michael Crichton
'Congo'. HarperCollins

Congo is about a diamond expedition in the rain forest of Congo that is attacked by killer gorillas.

of 31

1983 - 'Electronic Life'

'Electronic Life' by Michael Crichton
'Electronic Life'. Knopf

This nonfiction book was written to introduce readers to computers and how to use them.

of 31

1987 - 'Sphere'

'Sphere' by Michael Crichton
'Sphere'. Random House

Sphere is the story of a psychologist who is called by U.S. Navy to join a team of scientists to examine an enormous spacecraft discovered on the bottom of the Pacific Ocean.

of 31

1988 - 'Travels'

'Travels' by Michael Crichton
'Travels". HarperCollins

This nonfiction memoir tells about Crichton's work as a doctor and travels around the world.

of 31

1990 - 'Jurassic Park'

'Jurassic Park' by Michael Crichton
'Jurassic Park'. Random House

Jurassic Park is a science fiction thriller about dinosaurs who are recreated through DNA.

of 31

1992 - 'Rising Sun'

'Rising Sun' by Michael Crichton
'Rising Sun'. Random House

Rising Sun is about a murder at the Los Angeles headquarters of a Japanese company.

of 31

1994 - 'Disclosure'

'Disclosure' by Michael Crichton
'Disclosure'. Random House

Disclosure us about Tom Sanders, who works in a high-tech company just before the beginning of the dot-com economic boom and is wrongly accused of sexual harassment.

of 31

1995 - 'The Lost World'

'The Lost World' by Michael Crichton
'The Lost World'. Ballantine

The Lost World is the sequel to Jurassic Park. It takes place six years after the original novel and involves the search for "Site B," the place where the dinosaurs for Jurassic Park were hatched.

of 31

1996 - 'Airframe'

'Airframe' by Michael Crichton
'Airframe'. Random House

Airframe is about Casey Singleton, a quality assurance vice-president at the fictional aerospace manufacturer Norton Aircraft, who is investigating an accident that left three passengers dead and fifty-six injured.

of 31

1999 - 'Timeline'

'Timeline' by Michael Crichton
'Timeline'. Random House

Timeline is about a team of historians who travels to the Middle Ages to retrieve a fellow historian who is trapped there.

of 31

2002 - 'Prey'

'Prey' by Michael Crichton
'Prey'. HarperCollins

Prey follows a software designer as he is called in to consult on an emergency situation regarding experimental nano-robots. It is a fast paced, scientific thriller

'State of Fear' by Michael Crichton
'State of Fear'. HarperCollins

State of Fear is about environmentalists -- some good, some bad. It was controversial because it pushed Crichton's view that global warming is not caused by humans. More »

of 31

2006 - 'Next'

Next by Michael Crichton
Next - Courtesy HarperCollins.
In Next, Crichton brings up some provocative dilemmas dealing with the topic of genetic testing and ownership.
of 31

2009 - 'Pirate Latitudes'

'Pirate Latitudes' by Michael Crichton
'Pirate Latitudes' by Michael Crichton. HarperCollins

Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton was found as a manuscript among his belongings after his untimely death. It is a pirate yarn in the tradition of Treasure Island. While not "typical Crichton," it is a good story that shows his skill as a writer.

of 31

2011 - 'Micro'

Micro by Michael Crichton
Micro by Michael Crichton. Harper

Part of the Micro manuscript was found after Michael Crichton died in 2008. Richard Preston completed this science thriller about a group of graduate students trapped in the Hawaiian rain forest after coming to Hawaii to work for a mysterious Biotech company.