Most Stanley Cup Wins by Players

Which Player has the Most Stanley Cup Wins Ever?

Wayne Gretsky statue, Rogers Place Arena, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Wayne Gretsky statue in the Rogers Place Arena, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.   Michael Wheatley/Getty Images

Henri Richard holds the NHL record for most Stanley Cup championships. From 1956 to 1973, the legendary "Pocket Rocket" won 11 Stanley Cups, all with the Montreal Canadiens. Twice, in 1966 and in 1971, he scored the winning goal in the final game.

Several other NHL players also have impressive Stanley Cup records:

  • Jean Beliveau won 10 Stanley Cups with the Canadiens from 1956 to 1971. His name is also on the Cup another seven times as a member of Montreal's front office.
  • Another star of the Montreal Canadiens, Yvan Cournoyer won 10 Stanley Cups between 1965 and 1979.
  • Like Richard and Beliveau, Claude Provost won his first cup in 1956. He won nine Stanley Cups with the Canadiens, the last coming in 1969.
  • Red Kelly is the most successful NHL player who never played for Montreal. He won eight Stanley Cups with Detroit and Toronto between 1950 and 1967.
  • Before beginning a long career as a coach, Jacques Lemaire won eight Stanley Cups with the Montreal Canadiens from 1968 to 1979.
  • Maurice "Rocket" Richard, older brother of Henri Richard, won eight Stanley Cups during his legendary career with the Canadiens, between 1944 and 1960.

And who do we find at the opposite end of the scale? Who's the NHL's all-time hard-luck guy?

That would be Phil Housley.

From 1982 to 2003, Housley played 1,495 regular season games with Buffalo, Winnipeg, St. Louis, Calgary, New Jersey, Washington, Chicago, and Toronto.

But he never lifted the Cup.

That makes him the leader in games played without ever winning a Stanley Cup.

Stanley Cup Origins

In 1888, the Governor-General of Canada, Lord Stanley of Preston (his sons and daughter enjoyed hockey), first attended the Montreal Winter Carnival tournament and was impressed with the game.

In 1892, he saw that there was no recognition for the best team in Canada, so he purchased a silver bowl for use as a trophy. The Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup (which later became known as the Stanley Cup) was first awarded in 1893 to the Montreal Hockey Club, champions of the Amateur Hockey Association of Canada. The Stanley Cup continues to be awarded annually to the National Hockey League's championship team.