108 Names of Durga

108 names of the mother goddess from the Devi Mahatmya (Chandi)

108 Names of Goddess Durga
Photo © Subhamoy Das

Goddess Durga is the mother of the universe according to Hindu belief. There are many incarnations of Durga: Kali, Bhagvati, Bhavani, Ambika, Lalita, Gauri, Kandalini, Java, Rajeswari, et al. Her nine appellations are Skondamata, Kusumanda, Shailaputri, Kaalratri, Brahmacharini, Maha Gauri, Katyayani, Chandraghanta, and Siddhidatri.

108 Names of Durga From the Devi Mahatmya (Chandi)

According to the scriptures, Lord Shiva called the Mother Goddess Durga in 108 names in order to please her.

During Navaratri and Durga Puja, devotees utter prayers in the 108 names of the Goddess. These names appear in the Purana called ​Devi Mahatmyam or Devi Mahatmya (The Glory of the Goddess) that narrates the story of Goddess Durga's battle and eventual victory over the demon king Mahishasura. Composed around 400–500 CE in Sanskrit by the ancient Indian sage Markandeya, this Hindu scripture is also known as the Durga Saptashat or simply the Chandi.

  1. Aadya: The primordial reality
  2. Aarya: The Goddess
  3. Abhavya: The fearful Goddess
  4. Aeindri: The one who is powered Lord Indra
  5. Agnijwala: The one who is capable of spewing fire
  6. Ahankara: The one who is full of pride
  7. Ameyaa: The one who is beyond any measure
  8. Anantaa: The one who is infinite and immeasurable
  9. Aja: The one who has no birth
  10. Anekashastrahasta: The possessor of many weaponed hand
  11. AnekastraDhaarini: The one who holds multiple weapons
  12. Anekavarna: The one who has multiple complexions
  1. Aparna: The one who abstains from eating even leaves while fasting
  2. Apraudha: The one who never ages
  3. Bahula: The one who has diverse forms and manifestations
  4. Bahulaprema: The one who is loved by all
  5. Balaprada: The giver of strength
  6. Bhavini: The beautiful one
  7. Bhavya: The one who stands for the future
  8. Bhadrakaali: The gentle form of Goddess Kali
  1. Bhavani: The mother of the universe
  2. Bhavamochani: The one who is the liberator of the universe
  3. Bhavaprita: The one who is adored by the entire universe
  4. Bhavya: The one who has magnificence
  5. Brahmi: The one who has the power of Lord Brahma
  6. Brahmavadini: The one who is omnipresent
  7. Buddhi: The embodiment of intelligence
  8. Buddhida: The one who bestows wisdom
  9. Chamunda: The killer of the demons called Chanda and Munda
  10. Chandi: The fearful form of Durga        
  11. Chandraghanta: The one who has mighty bells
  12. Chinta: The one who takes care of Tension
  13. Chita: The one who prepares the Death-bed
  14. Chiti: The one who has a mind that thinks          
  15. Chitra: The one with the quality of being Picturesque
  16. Chittarupa: The one who is in a state of thought
  17. Dakshakanya: The one known to be the daughter of Daksha
  18. Dakshayajñavinaashini: The one who interrupts the sacrifice of Daksha
  19. Devamata: The one who is known as the Mother Goddess
  20. Durga: The one who is unconquerable
  21. Ekakanya: The one who is known to be the girl child
  22. Ghorarupa: The one who has an aggressive outlook
  23. Gyaana: The one who is the embodiment of Knowledge
  24. Jalodari: The one who is the abode of the ethereal universe
  25. Jaya: The one who emerges as the Victorious
  26. Kaalaratri: The Goddess who is black like night
  1. Kaishori : The one who is an adolescent
  2. Kalamanjiiraranjini: The one who wears a musical anklet
  3. Karaali: The one who is Violent
  4. Katyayani: The one who is worshipped by sage Katyanan
  5. Kaumaari: The one who is an adolescent
  6. Komaari: The one known to be a beautiful adolescent
  7. Kriya: The one who is in action
  8. Krooraa: The one who is murderous on demons
  9. Lakshmi: The Goddess of Wealth
  10. Maheshwari: The one who possesses the power of Lord Mahesha
  11. Maatangi: The Goddess of Matanga
  12. MadhuKaitabhaHantri: The one who killed  the demon-duo Madhu and Kaitabha
  13. Mahaabala: The one who has immense strength
  14. Mahatapa: The one with severe penance
  15. MahishasuraMardini:    The destroyer  of the bull-demon Mahishaasura
  16. Mahodari: The one who has a huge belly which stores the universe
  17. Manah: The one with a   Mind
  18. Matangamunipujita: The one who is worshipped by the Sage Matanga
  1. Muktakesha: The one who flaunts open tresses
  2. Narayani: The one known to be the destructive aspect of Lord Narayana (Brahma)
  3. NishumbhaShumbhaHanani: The killer of the demon-brothers Shumbha Nishumbha
  4. Nitya: The one known as The eternal
  5. Paatala: The one with the colour Red
  6. Paatalavati: The one who is clothed in red
  7. Parameshvari: The one known as the Ultimate Goddess
  8. Pattaambaraparidhaana: The one who wears dress made out of leather
  9. Pinaakadharini: The one who holds the trident of Shiva
  10. Pratyaksha: The one who is original
  11. Praudha: The one who is old
  12. Purushaakriti: The one who takes the shape of a man
  13. Ratnapriya: The one who is adorned or loved by jewels
  14. Raudramukhi: The one who has a frightening face like the destroyer Rudra
  15. Saadhvi: The one who is self-confident
  16. Sadagati: The one who is always in motion, bestowing Moksha (salvation)
  17. Sarvaastradhaarini: The one who possesses all the missile weapons
  18. Sarvadaanavaghaatini: The one who possesses the power to kill all the demons
  19. Sarvamantramayi: The one who possesses all the instruments of thought
  20. Sarvashaastramayi: The one  who is skillful in all theories
  21. Sarvasuravinasha: The one who is the destroyer of all demons
  22. Sarvavahanavahana: The one who rides all vehicles
  23. Sarvavidya: The one who is Knowledgeable
  24. Sati: The one who got burned alive
  25. Satta: The one who is above all beings
  26. Satya: The one who resembles truth
  27. Satyanandasvarupini: The one who has the form of Eternal bliss
  28. Savitri: The one who is the daughter of the Sun God Savitri
  29. Shaambhavi: The one who is the companion of Shambhu
  1. Shivadooti: The one who is the ambassador of Lord Shiva
  2. Shooldharini: The one who holds a monodent
  3. Sundari: The one who is gorgeous
  4. Sursundari: The one who is extremely beautiful
  5. Tapasvini: The one who is engaged in repentance
  6. Trinetra: The one who has three-eyes
  7. Vaarahi : The one who rides on Varaah
  8. Vaishnavi: The one who is invincible
  9. Vandurga: The one known as the Goddess of forests
  10. Vikrama: The one who is violent
  11. Vimalauttkarshini: The one who provides joy
  12. Vishnumaya: The one who is the charm of Lord Vishnu
  13. Vriddhamaata: The one known as the old mother
  14. Yati: The one who renounces the world or the ascetic
  15. Yuvati: The one who is a young woman
mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Das, Subhamoy. "108 Names of Durga." ThoughtCo, Jan. 15, 2018, thoughtco.com/names-of-durga-1770366. Das, Subhamoy. (2018, January 15). 108 Names of Durga. Retrieved from https://www.thoughtco.com/names-of-durga-1770366 Das, Subhamoy. "108 Names of Durga." ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/names-of-durga-1770366 (accessed June 19, 2018).