"New Zodiac" Dates

Sidereal Dates

There's nothing "New" about the sidereal Zodiac, but here are the dates for you to find where you fall in this system of measuring the sky. Each year, just like with the Tropical Zodiac, there's often a shift of a day in either direction.

The "New Zodiac" Dates

Aries: April 18 - May 13
Taurus: May 13 - June 21
Gemini: June 21 - July 20
Cancer: July 20 - Aug. 10
Leo: Aug. 10 - Sept. 16
Virgo: Sept. 16 - Oct.

Libra: Oct. 30 - Nov. 23
Scorpio: Nov. 23 - Nov. 29
Ophiuchus: Nov. 29 - Dec. 17
Sagittarius: Dec. 17 - Jan. 20
Capricorn: Jan. 20 - Feb. 16
Aquarius: Feb. 16 - March 11
Pisces: March 11- April 18

And why are there two Zodiacs?

Ecliptic, the Path of the Sun around the Earth

To study patterns in time, the ancient astrologers of Mesopotamia, and later Greece, divided the path of the Sun -- the ecliptic -- into 12 sections. Each one is 30 degrees and makes up the 360 degree Zodiac circle.

They chose a point that began with 0 degrees Aries, and was aligned with the constellation Aries that looked to the ancients like a Ram. You might know, though, that the Earth is a spinning top that's tilted toward the Sun. As it orbits the Sun, the Earth's axis wobbles and slowly makes a circling back in the opposite direction. This is called precession, and has created a 23 degree change in where the Spring Equinox falls in relation to the fixed stars.

The sidereal zodiac is set using the position of the fixed stars as the starting point of 0 degrees Aries. And tropical astrology always starts 0 degrees Aries at the Spring equinox. This is when the plane of the ecliptic intersects with the plane of the equator (hence the name Tropical -- Tropic of Cancer/Capricorn).