Nordea Masters Golf Tournament on the European Tour

Past champs, plus fun facts and figures for the tourney in Sweden

The pin flags are replaced with Swedish flags to mark Sweden's National Day on day three of the Nordea Masters at the PGA Sweden National on June 6, 2015
The Nordea Masters (formerly known as the Scandinavian Masters) is the only European Tour golf tournament in Sweden. Harry Engels/Getty Images

The Nordea Masters (which was known through much of its history as the Scandinavian Masters) is a golf tournament that is played annually in Sweden. The Nordea Masters has been part of the European Tour schedule since its debut in 1991. Nordea, a financial services company, became title sponsor beginning in 2010.

2018 Tournament

  • When: Aug. 16-19
  • Where: Hills Golf Club in Gothenburg, Sweden

2017 Nordea Masters
Twenty-year-old Italian Renato Paratore took the victory for his first career win on the European Tour.

Paratore turned pro in 2014 and his only previous pro victory was at the 2014 Italian National Championship. At the Nordea Masters, he finished at 11-under 282, one stroke better than runners-up Matthew Fitzpatrick and Chris Wood.

2016 Nordea Masters
Matthew Fitzpatrick cruised to victory in the 2016 Nordea Masters, winning by three over runner-up Lasse Jensen. Nicolas Colsaerts was another stroke back in third place, but Fitzpatrick led Jensen by six and Colsaerts by five at the start of the final round. It was Fitzpatrick's second career win on the European Tour.

Official Web site

Nordea Masters Tournament Records

The Nordea Masters Golf Course

In 2014-15, the Nordea Masters has been played at PGA Sweden National, a golf resort and club just outside of Malmo.  Previously, multiple courses hosted the tournament over the years.

From 2010-13 the site was Bro Hof Slott Golf Club in Bro, a suburb of Stockholm. Most frequent among the previous host courses was Barseback Golf & Country Club in Malmo.

Iin 2016, the tournament returned to Bro Hof Slott and in 2017 to Barseback, as it resumed rotating around the country.

Nordea Masters Facts, Figures and Trivia

  • The tournament was created in 1991 through the merger of two existing Swedish tournaments. The Scandinavian Enterprise Open and the PLM Open combined operations and came out of that merger as the Scandinavian Masters.
  • There has not yet been a back-to-back winner in this tournament.
  • Colin Montgomerie and Lee Westwood have the most wins with three each. Monty won the inaugural Scandinavian Masters in 1991, and added victories in 1999 and 2001. Westwood first won in 1996, and again in 2000 and 2012.
  • Graeme McDowell's first win on the European Tour happened at the 2002 Scandinavian Masters. McDowell still holds the tourney record for youngest winner; he was five days past his 23rd birthday.
  • Luke Donald's first European Tour win also happened in this tournament, in 2004 (although it was two years after Donald had already won on the PGA Tour).
  • Jesper Parnevik, in 1995, was the first Swede to win this tournament, and he won again in 1998.
  • At the 2013 tournament, Andrew Dodt scored two holes-in-one in the same round, en route to a 65 in Round 2.

Winners of the Nordea Masters Tournament

Past champions listed by year, with the name of the tournament at the time it was played (p-won playoff):

Nordea Masters
2017 - Renato Paratore, 281
2016 - Matthew Fitzpatrick, 272
2015 - Alex Noren, 276
2014 - Thongchai Jaidee-p, 272
2013 - Mikko Ilonen, 267
2012 - Lee Westwood, 269

Nordea Scandinavian Masters
2011 - Alexander Noren, 273
2010 - Richard S.

Johnson, 277

SAS Masters
2009 - Ricardo Gonzalez, 282
2008 - Peter Hanson, 271

Scandinavian Masters
2007 - Mikko Ilonen, 274

EnterCard Scandinavian Masters
2006 - Marc Warren-p, 278

Scandinavian Masters by Carlsberg
2005 - Mark Hensby-p, 262
2004 - Luke Donald, 272

Scandic Carlsberg Scandinavian Masters
2003 - Adam Scott, 277

Volvo Scandinavian Masters
2002 - Graeme McDowell, 270
2001 - Colin Montgomerie, 274
2000 - Lee Westwood, 270
1999 - Colin Montgomerie, 268
1998 - Jesper Parnevik, 273
1997 - Joakim Haeggman, 270
1996 - Lee Westwood-p, 281
1995 - Jesper Parnevik, 270

Scandinavian Masters
1994 - Vijay Singh, 268
1993 - Peter Baker-p, 278
1992 - Nick Faldo, 277
1991 - Colin Montgomerie, 270