PGA Championship Golf Tournament

Facts, figures, history, trivia for the final major of the golf season

Jason Dufner with the PGA Championship Wanamaker Trophy
2014 PGA Championship winner Jason Dufner admires the Wanamaker Trophy. Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

The PGA Championship is one of golf's four major championships. It is played yearly at different courses and hosted by the Professional Golfers Association, a k a the PGA of America.

2017 PGA Championship

  • When: Aug. 10-13, 2017
  • Where: Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, North Carolina

2016 PGA Championship

  • Dates: July 28-31, 2016
  • Location: Baltusrol Golf Club (Lower Course) Springfield, New Jersey
  • View the Scoreboard

    Final Leaders
    Jimmy Walker, 266
    Jason Day, 267
    Daniel Summerhays, 270
    Branden Grace, 271
    Hideki Matsuyama, 271
    Brooks Koepka, 271
    Henrik Stenson, 272
    Martin Kaymer, 272
    Robert Streb, 272
    Full Scores

    Previous Majors at Baltusrol

    The 2016 PGA Championship is the ninth men's major championship played at Baltusrol. Here are the previous ones, along with each one's winner (click the tournament name to read a recap and view scores):

    Key FAQs for tournament week:

    (More tournament FAQs are linked below.)

    Recent PGA Championship Results

    2015 PGA Championship

    Jason Day had multiple close calls in previous majors, including in 2015. At the 2015 PGA Championship, he put those near-misses behind him by winning a major for the first time. And in so doing, he finished at 20-under par - the first golfer ever to post that score in relation to par in a major. Day won by three shots over Jordan Spieth, who was trying for his third major win of the year.

    Day led Spieth by two at the beginning of the final round, and shot 67 to Spieth's 68 in Round 4. More

    Final Leaders
    Jason Day, 268
    Jordan Spieth, 271
    Branden Grace, 273
    Justin Rose, 274
    Brooks Koepka, 275
    Anirban Lahiri, 275
    George Coetzee, 276
    Matt Kuchar, 276
    Dustin Johnson, 276
    Final Scores/Money

    2014 Tournament

    Rory McIlroy claimed his fourth win in a major championship, his second major of 2014 and his second PGA Championship. McIlroy finished at 16-under 268, beating runner-up Phil Mickelson by one stroke. McIlroy began the final round leading, but fell behind after two bogeys on the front nine, and after Mickelson and Rickie Fowler both scored several birdies on their own front nines. But McIlroy started the back nine with an eagle on No. 10, and played a bogey-free final nine. He added birdies on Nos. 13 and 17. Rushing to finish after a rain delay, and playing in near total darkness, McIlroy hit a perfect lag putt on the final green and tapped in for the win. Read more/view scores

    PGA Championship - Facts, Figures, Trivia

    Best Players in PGA Championship History
    Counting down the Top 5 golfers in tournament history.

    Best Golfers Who Never Won the PGA Championship
    Most of golf's greatest (among those who were eligible) have won the PGA.

    But not all of them! Here are the 10 greatest players who tried but never won the PGA Championship.

    PGA Championship Winners & Scores
    Check the list of winners through the years, going back to the first PGA Championship in 1916. Click on the year of the tournament to view the scores and read a recap of that year's event.

    Playoffs at the PGA Championship
    The years, the players, the scores - the winners of every playoff in tournament history.

    PGA Champions Dinner
    Like at The Masters, at the PGA Championship every year there is a Champions Dinner. What's on the menu? And did you know that defending PGA champs also give gifts when they host the dinner?

    PGA Championship FAQs
    When and where was the tournament first played? Who has won it most often? What is the cut rule and playoff format? Why is the trophy named what it is?

    Find answers to these questions and more.

    PGA Championship Records
    Look through this interesting list of tournament records. You're sure to find some interesting facts.

    PGA Championship Courses
    Where has each PGA Championship been played? See the list of championship golf courses.

    Future Sites

    • 2017: Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, N.C.
    • 2018: Bellerive Country Club, St. Louis, Mo.
    • 2019: Bethpage State Park (Black Course), Farmingdale, N.Y.
    • 2020: TPC Harding Park, San Francisco, Calif.
    • 2021: Kiawah Island (Ocean Course), South Carolina
    • 2022: Trump National Bedminster, Bedminster Township, N.J.