PGA Tour Barracuda Championship

Facts, figures, trivia and all the winners of the golf tournament

Vaughn Taylor at the Reno-Tahoe Open
So far, Vaughn Taylor is the only 2-time winner of the PGA Tour's Barracuda Championship. S. Badz/Getty Images

The Barracuda Championship has been part of the PGA Tour schedule since 1999. For much of that history it was known as the Reno-Tahoe Open, but Barracuda Networks Inc. became the title sponsor beginning in 2014. This tournament is currently an "opposite field" event - one that is played the same week as another tour event. In the Barracuda Championship's case, that means this event is played the same week as the WGC Bridgestone Invitational.

The Barracuda Championship is the only tournament on the PGA Tour schedule to use the Modified Stableford format. It switched to that format beginning with the 2012 tournament. At the Barracuda Championship, Stableford points are awarded or subtracted as follows:

  • Double eagle: 8 points
  • Eagle: 5 points
  • Birdie: 2 points
  • Par: 0 points
  • Bogey: minus-1 points
  • Double bogey or worse: minus-3 points

2019 Reno-Tahoe

  • When: July 25-28, 2019
  • Where: Montreux Golf & Country Club in Reno, Nev.

2018 Tournament
Andrew Putnam earned his first PGA Tour win, finishing it off with a birdie on the final hole. In the Stableford tournament, Putnam scored 47 points, four better than runner-up Chad Campbell.

2017 Barracuda Championship
Chris Stroud emerged the champion following a 3-man playoff against Greg Owen and Richy Werensky. All finished 72 holes with 44 points, so continued on to extra holes. Owen was eliminated on the first playoff hole, then Stroud won it a birdie on the second.

It was Stroud's first PGA Tour victory.

Official web site
PGA Tour tournament site

Barracuda Championship Records:

  • 72 holes: 267 - Vaughn Taylor, 2005
  • 18 holes: 61 - Scott Piercy, 2011

Barracuda Championship Golf Courses:

This tournament has been on played on the same golf course since its inception: Montreux Golf & Country Club in Reno.

Barracuda Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • Notah Begay III was the winner of the first Reno-Tahoe Open played, in 1999, and that was also Begay's first PGA Tour win.
  • This event has a knack for producing first-time winners. Scott Piercy (2011), Matt Bettancourt (2010), Parker McLachlin (2008), Will Mackenzie (2006), Vaughn Taylor (2004) and Chris Riley (2002) also achieved their first PGA Tour wins here. In 2017, Chris Stroud joined the list.
  • Meanwhile, the last of John Cook's 11 PGA Tour victories happened at the 2001 Reno-Tahoe Open.
  • Taylor was the only 2-time winner of the Reno-Tahoe Open - and he won in back-to-back years - until J.J. Henry won a second time in 2015. Henry's two wins both came in the Stableford era.
  • A year after his meltdown at the 1999 British Open, Jean Van de Valde finished second in the 2000 Reno-Tahoe Open. That is Van de Velde's best finish in a "regular" USPGA Tour event.
  • A year before his victory in 2009, John Rollins tied for second at the 2008 tournament.
  • Michelle Wie missed the cut in the 2008 tournament. That was the last of 13 times Wie played in a tournament on a traditionally men's tour.
  • When the Reno-Tahoe Open switched to Modified Stableford scoring beginning with the 2012 tournament, it became the second event to use that scoring format on the PGA Tour. The International, a tournament that existed from 1986-2006, was the first.

    PGA Tour Barracuda Championship Winners:

    Reno-Tahoe Open
    2018 - Andrew Putnam, 47 points
    2017 - Chris Stroud-p, 44 points
    2016 - Greg Chalmers, 42 points
    2015 - J.J. Henry-p, 47 points
    2014 - Geoff Ogilvy, 49 points
    2013 - Gary Woodland, 44 points
    2012 - J.J. Henry, 43 points
    2011 - Scott Piercy, 273
    2010 - Matt Bettencourt, 277

    Legends Reno-Tahoe Open
    2009 - John Rollins, 271
    2008 - Parker McLachlin, 270

    Reno-Tahoe Open
    2007 - Steve Flesch, 273
    2006 - Will MacKenzie, 268
    2005 - Vaughn Taylor, 267
    2004 - Vaughn Taylor-p, 278
    2003 - Kirk Triplett, 271
    2002 - Chris Riley-p, 271
    2001 - John Cook, 271
    2000 - Scott Verplank-p, 275
    1999 - Notah Begay III, 277