PGA Tour Shriners Hospitals for Children Open

Tournament facts and figures, plus trivia and past champions

Webb Simpson won the 2013 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
Webb Simpson won the 2013 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open, and tied the tournament scoring record. Scott Halleran/Getty Images

The PGA Tour's Las Vegas stop has been played under various names since 1983. From 2008 through 2012, entertainer Justin Timberlake was the tournament "host," with his name in the event title. That relationship ended following the 2012 tournament, however.

The Las Vegas event was always, prior to 2008, played over multiple golf courses within the same event. Beginning in 2008, TPC Summerlin became the sole place of play.

This event is most famous as the site of Tiger Woods' first PGA Tour victory.

2018 Tournament
Bryson DeChambeau carded three rounds of 66 and one of 65 in his victory. He finished at 21-under 263, one stroke ahead of runner-up Patrick Cantlay. It was DeChambeau's fourth win in 2018, his first on the 2018-19 PGA Tour schedule.

2017 Shriners Open
Patrick Cantlay won a 3-way playoff for the trophy. Cantlay finished at 9-under 275, tied with Alex Cejka and Whee Kim. All three golfers bogeyed the first playoff hole, but Cantlay won it on the second extra hole with a par.

2016 Tournament
Rod Pampling led wire-to-wire after opening with a round of 60. He finished at 20-under 264, two strokes ahead of runner-up Brooks Koepka. It was Pampling's third career PGA Tour win, but his first in 10 years. His most-recent previous victory was at the 2006 Bay Hill Invitational.

Official Web site tournament site

Shriners Hospitals for Children Open Records:

  • 72 holes: 260, Ryan Moore, 2012; Webb Simpson, 2013
  • 90 holes: 328, Stuart Appleby, Scott McCarron, 2003
  • 18 holes: 59 - Chip Beck, 1991 at Sunrise Country Club. Current course (TPC Summerlin) record is 60 by J.J. Henry in 2013 and Rod Pampling in 2016

Shriners Hospitals for Children Open Golf Courses:

Beginning in 2008, TPC Summerlin is the sole host of the tournament. And TPC Summerlin is the course most associated with this event. But throughout its history, until 2008, the tournament was always played at multiple courses, players rotating from round to round. In addition to TPC Summerlin, the other Las Vegas golf courses to host this tournament are:

  • Desert Inn Country Club
  • Spanish Trail Golf & Country Club
  • Sunrise Golf Club
  • Las Vegas Country Club
  • Las Vegas Hilton Country Club
  • Southern Highlands Golf Club
  • Bear's Best Golf Club
  • TPC Las Vegas

Tournament Trivia and Notes:

  • As stated in the intro, this tournament is most famous as the site of Tiger Woods' first PGA Tour victory. It happened in 1996, when the tournament was known as the Las Vegas Invitational. Woods shot 64 in the final round to tie Davis Love III, then won the trophy with a par on the first playoff hole.
  • And its second-most famous moment occured in 1991, when Chip Beck became the second golfer in PGA Tour history to shoot 59. It happened in the third round. Beck didn't win, however, finishing two strokes out of a playoff.
  • That final-round 64 shot by Woods in 1996 happened in the fifth round. This event, for much of its history, was five rounds in duration. It 2004, it was reduced to the more traditional four rounds.
  • A year before Tiger's first win, Jim Furyk's first career PGA Tour win happened here in the 1995 Las Vegas Invitational.
  • Furyk has won twice more, giving him three career titles in Las Vegas and making him the only multiple winner of the championship.
  • The event was first played in 1983 (as five rounds) and was won by Fuzzy Zoeller.
  • Several players share the PGA Tour record of eight consecutive birdies. Jerry Kelly is one of them, and he accomplished the feat in this tournament in 2003, in the third round.
  • The last of Bruce Lietzke's 13 PGA Tour wins came in the 1994 Las Vegas Invitational.
  • Jonathan Byrd's win in 2010 came with one swing: He aced the fourth playoff hole.
  • At the 2012 tourney, John Daly followed his second-round 63 with an 86 in the third round - a difference of 23 strokes. That is believed to be one of the largest gaps between consecutive rounds in PGA Tour history.

    Shriners Hospitals for Children Open - Past Champions:

    w-weather shortened; p-playoff

    Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
    2018 - Bryson DeChambeau, 263
    2017 - Patrick Cantlay-p, 275
    2016 - Rod Pampling, 264
    2015 - Smylie Kaufman, 268
    2014 - Ben Martin, 264
    2013 - Webb Simpson, 260

    Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
    2012 - Ryan Moore, 260
    2011 - Kevin Na, 261
    2010 - Jonathan Byrd-p, 263
    2009 - Martin Laird-p, 265
    2008 - Marc Turnesa, 263 Open
    2007 - George McNeill, 264
    2006 - Troy Matteson, 265

    Michelin Championship at Las Vegas
    2005 - Wes Short Jr.-p, 266
    2004 - Andre Stolz, 266

    Invensys Classic at Las Vegas
    2003 - Stuart Appleby-p, 328
    2002 - Phil Tataurangi, 330
    2001 - Bob Estes, 329
    2000 - Billy Andrade, 332

    Las Vegas Invitational
    1999 - Jim Furyk, 331
    1998 - Jim Furyk, 335
    1997 - Bill Glasson, 340
    1996 - Tiger Woods-p, 332
    1995 - Jim Furyk, 331
    1994 - Bruce Lietzke, 332
    1993 - Davis Love III, 331
    1992 - John Cook, 334
    1991 - Andrew Magee-p, 329
    1990 - Bob Tway-p, 334
    1989 - Scott Hoch-p, 336

    Panasonic Las Vegas Invitational
    1988 - Gary Koch-w, 274
    1987 - Paul Azinger-w, 271
    1986 - Greg Norman, 333
    1985 - Curtis Strange, 338
    1984 - Denis Watson, 341

    Panasonic Las Vegas Pro-Celebrity Classsic
    1983 - Fuzzy Zoeller, 340