PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament

David Lingmerth of Sweden holds the tournament trophy with Jack Nicklaus after winning The Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide in a three hole playoff against Justin Rose at Muirfield Village Golf Club on June 7, 2015
David Lingmerth recieves the trophy from Jack Nicklaus after winning the 2015 Memorial Tournament. Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Founded by and hosted by Jack Nicklaus, at the golf course he designed, The Memorial Tournament is one of the most important "regular" PGA Tour events (outside of the majors, Players Championship and WGC events) on the schedule. It's Jack's tournament, after all. And each year The Memorial honors golfers, living or dead, who made a significant contribution to the game (hence the tournament's name).

2018 Memorial
Bryson DeChambeau bogeyed the 72nd hole to fall into a playoff, but then won the playoff and the tournament. DeChambeau, Byeong Hun An and Kyle Stanley tied at 15-under 273. Stanley was eliminated on the first extra hole, then DeChambeau won it with a birdie on the second playoff hole.

2017 Memorial Tournament
Jason Dufner set a 36-hole tournament scoring record in the first two rounds (65-65) and went on to win by three strokes. Dufner followed up that 130 opening 36 holes with a third-round 77, but bounced back with a final-round 68. He finished at 13-under 275, three shots ahead of runners-up Rickie Fowler and Anirban Lahiri. It was Dufner's fifth career win on the PGA Tour.

2016 Tournament
For the third consecutive year, the tournament ended with a playoff. This time, William McGirt defeated Jon Curran. Both golfers were going for their first PGA Tour victories. They finished 72 holes tied at 15-under 273, and both parred the first playoff hole.

But on the second extra hole, McGirt won it with a par to Curran's bogey.

Official Web site
PGA Tour tournament site

PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament Records:

  • Overall: 268 - Tom Lehman, 1994
  • Tournament course record: 61 - John Huston, 1996

PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament Golf Course:

The Memorial Tournament is played at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Columbus, Ohio.

The course was designed by Jack Nicklaus with Desmond Muirhead on a piece of property that Nicklaus' father took him hunting on when he was a young boy. The course opened on Memorial Day in 1974, and The Memorial Tournament was first played in 1976. Read more about Muirfield Village

PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament Trivia and Notes:

  • Roger Maltbie won the first Memorial Tournament in a playoff over Hale Irwin after a brilliant stroke of luck. On the third playoff hole, Maltie's approach from 186 yards sailed left of the green ... but hit a gallery stake and bounced onto the green. Maltbie made par and eventually won on an ensuing hole.
  • The first Memorial Tournament used a 3-hole, aggregate-score playoff format, with sudden death following if necessary. Although then-Tour Commissioner Deane Beman later nixed this playoff format, it was the first use of this type of playoff that would later be used in some majors.
  • Jack Nicklaus won his own tournament in its second year, 1977, then in 1984 became the first two-time winner of this event.
  • Tiger Woods is the only golfer to win The Memorial Tournament back-to-back, and he won three straight years, 1999-2001.
  • Woods added another victory in 2009, making him the only four-time winner, then became the first with five victories after winning again in 2012.
  • Kenny Perry has three wins here, the only golfer other than Woods to win three or more times.
  • Hale Irwin, Tom Watson and Greg Norman are two-time winners of The Memorial.

PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament Winners:

(p-playoff; w-weather shortened)

The Memorial Tournament
2018 - Bryson DeChambeau-p, 273
2017 - Jason Dufner, 275
2016 - William McGirt-p, 273
2015 - David Lingmerth-p, 273
2014 - Hideki Matsuyama-p, 275
2013 - Matt Kuchar, 276
2012 - Tiger Woods, 279
2011 - Steve Stricker, 272
2010 - Justin Rose, 270
2009 - Tiger Woods, 276
2008 - Kenny Perry, 280
2007 - K.J. Choi, 271
2006 - Carl Pettersson, 276
2005 - Bart Bryant, 272
2004 - Ernie Els, 270
2003 - Kenny Perry, 275
2002 - Jim Furyk, 274
2001 - Tiger Woods, 271
2000 - Tiger Woods, 269
1999 - Tiger Woods, 273
1998 - Fred Couples, 271
1997 - Vijay Singh-w, 202
1996 - Tom Watson, 274
1995 - Greg Norman, 269
1994 - Tom Lehman, 268
1993 - Paul Azinger, 274
1992 - David Edwards-p, 273
1991 - Kenny Perry-p, 273
1990 - Greg Norman-w, 216
1989 - Bob Tway, 277
1988 - Curtis Strange, 274
1987 - Don Pooley, 272
1986 - Hal Sutton, 271
1985 - Hale Irwin, 281
1984 - Jack Nicklaus-p, 280
1983 - Hale Irwin, 281
1982 - Raymond Floyd, 281
1981 - Keith Fergus, 284
1980 - David Graham, 280
1979 - Tom Watson, 285
1978 - Jim Simons, 284
1977 - Jack Nicklaus, 281
1976 - Roger Maltbie-p, 288