PGA Tour: The Tour Championship

Jordan Spieth hits his tee shot on the first hole during the third round of the TOUR Championship at East Lake Golf Club on September 24, 2016
Jordan Spieth, the 2015 Tour Championship winner. Scott Halleran/Getty Images

The Tour Championship is a limited-field event that has long been considered the finale to the big-money part of the PGA Tour schedule. Beginning in 2007, the Tour Championship also serves as the culmination of the FedEx Cup chase, the tournament at which the FedEx Cup champion is crowned. The Tour Championship field is limited to the Top 30 golfers on the FedEx Cup playoff points list.

2018 Tournament

  • When: Sept. 20-23
  • Where: East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, Ga.

2017 Tour Championship
Xander Schauffele ended his rookie season on the PGA Tour with a victory in the tour's finale. Schauffele won the tournament by one stroke over Justin Thomas, whose runner-up finished earned him the FedEx Cup Championship. It was Schauffele's second career PGA Tour victory.

2016 Tournament
Rory McIlroy shot 64 in the final round, then survived a 3-way playoff to claim his first win in the Tour Championship and, with it, the Fed Ex Cup championship. McIlroy finished at 12-under 268, tied with Ryan Moore (who also closed with a 64) and Kevin Chappell. Chappell was knocked out on the first extra hole, but McIlroy and Moore continued. On the fourth playoff hole, McIlroy won it with a birdie to Moore's par.

PGA Tour tournament site

The Tour Championship Records:

  • Overall: 257 - Tiger Woods, 2007
  • Tournament 18-Hole record: 60 - Zach Johnson, 2007

    The Tour Championship Golf Courses:

    The first Tour Championship was played at Oak Hills Country Club in San Antonio, Texas. The tournament rotated in ensuing years among several high-profile venues including Pebble Beach, Harbour Town, Pinehurst No. 2, Olympic Club, Southern Hills, and Champions in Houston.

    Beginning in 2004, East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, Ga., has been the permanent home of this tournament.

    The Tour Championship Trivia and Notes:

    • The Tour Championship was first played in 1987, and Tom Watson was the first champion.
    • When Chad Campbell won the Tour Championship in 2003, it was his first career victory on the PGA Tour.
    • Only two golfers have posted multiple victories in The Tour Championship - Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson. Each has won the tournament twice.
    • From 1987 through 2006, the field was comprised of the Top 30 players on the money list. Beginning in 2007, the field is made up of the Top 30 players on the FedEx Cup playoff points list.
    • Scoring was low in 2007. Tiger Woods' winning 257 bettered the previous 72-hole tournament scoring record by six strokes. And Zach Johnson set an 18-hole record that same year with a round of 60.
    • Johnson posted that 60 in the third round. And when he did, he became the 20th golfer to post a 60 in an official PGA Tour tournament. (Johnson later became the first person to do it twice).

    The Tour Championship Winners:


    The Tour Championship
    2017 - Xander Schauffele, 268
    2016 - Rory McIlroy-p, 268
    2015 - Jordan Spieth, 271
    2014 - Billy Horschel, 269
    2013 - Henrik Stenson, 267
    2012 - Brandt Snedeker, 270
    2011 - Bill Haas-p, 272
    2010 - Jim Furyk, 272
    2009 - Phil Mickelson, 271
    2008 - Camilo Villegas, 273
    2007 - Tiger Woods, 257
    2006 - Adam Scott, 269
    2005 - Bart Bryant, 263
    2004 - Retief Goosen, 269
    2003 - Chad Campbell, 268
    2002 - Vijay Singh, 268
    2001 - Mike Weir-p, 270
    2000 - Phil Mickelson, 267
    1999 - Tiger Woods, 269
    1998 - Hal Sutton-p, 274
    1997 - David Duval, 273
    1996 - Tom Lehman, 268
    1995 - Billy Mayfair, 280
    1994 - Mark McCumber-p, 274
    1993 - Jim Gallagher Jr., 277
    1992 - Paul Azinger, 276
    1991 - Craig Stadler-p, 279

    Nabisco Championships
    1989 - Tom Kite-p, 276

    Nabisco Golf Championships
    1988 - Curtis Strange-p, 279

    Nabisco Championships of Golf
    1987 - Tom Watson, 268