PGA Tour Valspar Championship

Retief Goosen
Retief Goosen is one of the 2-time winners of the Valspar Championship in Tampa. Cy Jariz Cyr/Getty Images

The Valspar Championship is the PGA Tour's stop in the Tampa/St. Petersburg Greater Metropolitan Area in Florida. This tournament is played during the "Florida Swing" portion of the PGA Tour schedule. In recent years it was also called the Transitions Championship and the Tampa Bay Championship.

2018 Tournament

  • When: March 8-11
  • Where: Innisbrook Resort (Copperhead course) in Palm Harbor, Fla.

2017 Valspar Championship
Adam Hadwin claimed a 1-stroke victory over Patrick Cantlay, finishing at 14-under 270.

It was the first career victory on the PGA Tour for Hadwin. Jim Herman and Dominic Bozzelli tied for third.

2016 Tournament
Charl Schwartzel won a playoff to claim his first PGA Tour victory since the 2011 Masters. Schwartzel and Bill Haas finished tied at 7-under 277. But Schwartzel won it on the first extra hole with a par to Haas' bogey.

Official website


PGA Tour tournament site

Valspar Championship Records:

  • 72-hole record: 266 - Vijay Singh, 2004
  • 18-hole record: 61 - Padraig Harrington, 2012

Valspar Championship Golf Course:

The Valspar Championship is played today on the same course it debuted on, and has been played there each year: The Copperhead Course at the Westin Innisbrook Resort in Palm Harbor, Fla.

Valspar Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • The tournament began as the Tampa Bay Classic in 2000. Chrysler, Pods and Transitions have been title sponsors in the past.
  • This event was canceled in 2001 in the aftermath of the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11. The tournament had been schedule for the following weekend.
  • K.J. Choi (2002, 2006) was the first 2-time winner of the Valspar Championship, and Retief Goosen (2003, 2009) has since joined Choi.
  • In its earlier years, the tournament was played in the later part of the PGA Tour schedule, first as an opposite-field event (played the same week as the Presidents Cup in 2000, then the same week as the WGC American Express Championship in 2002), then as the lead-in to the Tour Championship. Beginning in 2007, the tournament moved to the front part of the schedule.
  • John Daly pulled then-Tampa Bay Buccaneers coach Jon Gruden from outside the ropes to caddie for him during part of the first round in 2008. Instructor Butch Harmon cited Daly's behavior at the tournament (where Daly allegedly had a little too much to drink during a rain delay) when he dropped Daly as a client.

PGA Tour Valspar Championship Winners:

(p-won playoff)

Valspar Championship
2017 - Adam Hadwin, 270
2016 - Charl Schwartzel-p, 277
2015 - Jordan Spieth-p, 274

Tampa Bay Championship
2014 - John Senden, 277
2013 - Kevin Streelman, 274

Transitions Championship
2012 - Luke Donald-p, 271
2011 - Gary Woodland, 269
2010 - Jim Furyk, 271
2009 - Retief Goosen, 276

Pods Championship
2008 - Sean O'Hair, 280
2007 - Mark Calcavecchia, 274

Chrysler Championship
2006 - K.J. Choi, 271
2005 - Carl Pettersson, 275
2004 - Vijay Singh, 266
2003 - Retief Goosen, 272

Tampa Bay Classic
2002 - K.J. Choi, 267
2001 - not played
2000 - John Huston, 271