PGA Tour Wells Fargo Championship

Rickie Fowler after winning the 2012 Wells Fargo Championship
Rickie Fowler after winning the 2012 Wells Fargo Championship for his first career PGA Tour victory. Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

The Wells Fargo Championship, formerly known as the Wachovia Championship and Quail Hollow Championship, is one of the Spring events on the PGA Tour schedule. The event is usually played early in May and serves as a lead-in to The Players Championship.

2018 Tournament

  • When: May 3-6
  • Where: Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, N.C.

2017 Wells Fargo Championship
Brian Harman birdied the final two holes to nip Dustin Johnson and Pat Perez by a stroke.

Harman shot 68 in the final round, finishing at 10-under 278. It was Harman's second career win on the PGA Tour.

2016 Tournament
For the fourth time in the last six years, the tournament ended in a playoff. James Hahn and Roberto Castro finished 72 holes tied at 9-under 279. They continued to the first playoff hole, the par-4 18th, and Hahn ended it with a par to Castro's bogey. It was Hahn's second career PGA Tour victory. His first, at the 2015 Northern Trust Open, also required a playoff.

Official Web site
PGA Tour tournament site

PGA Tour Wells Fargo Championship Records:

  • Overall: 267 - Rory McIlroy, 2015
  • 18 holes: 61 - Rory McIlroy, 2015

PGA Tour Wells Fargo Championship Golf Courses:

Since its inception in 2003, the Wells Fargo Championship has been played at Quail Hollow Club, a private club in Charlotte, N.C. When Wachovia withdrew as title sponsor after the 2008 tournament, the event took the name of its host course for two years.

There was one exception: In 2017, the tournament was played at Eagle Point Golf Club in  Wilmington, N.C., because Quail Hollow hosted the PGA Championship that year.

The Quail Hollow Club was previously the site of the PGA Tour Kemper Open (1969-79) and the Champions Tour PaineWebber Invitational (1983-1989).

Tournament Trivia and Notes:

  • This tournament debuted in 2003 as the Wachovia Championship, and David Toms was the first winner. This wasn't the first tournament played at North Carolina's Quail Hollow Club, however. As noted above, the PGA Tour Kemper Open and Champions Tour PaineWebber Invitational were played at Quail Hollow in decades past.
  • The first 2-time winner of this tournament was Rory McIlroy. McIlroy first won in 2010 - his first victory on the U.S. PGA Tour - and added No. 2 in 2015. In McIlroy's first victory he set a tourney 18-hole scoring record of 62; he broke that record with a 61 in 2015.
  • Sergio Garcia led that 2005 tournament by six strokes at the start of the final round, only to lose in the playoff. That shares the PGA Tour record for largest lead at the start of the final round by a player who did not win.
  • Furyk's playoff win in 2006 marked the third straight year the tournament required extra holes. The streak began in 2004 with Joey Sindelar's playoff win.
  • Anthony Kim's first career win on the PGA Tour happened at the 2008 Wachovia Championship.
  • And Rickie Fowler added his first PGA Tour victory here in 2012.
  • The 2005 tournament was the final one in Tiger Woods' streak of 142 tournaments without missing a cut. Woods missed the cut in his next event, the 2005 Byron Nelson Championship.

    PGA Tour Wells Fargo Championship Winners:

    (p-won in playoff)

    Wells Fargo Championship
    2017 - Brian Harman, 278
    2016 - James Hahn-p, 279
    2015 - Rory McIlroy, 267
    2014 - J.B. Holmes, 274
    2013 - Derek Ernst-p, 280
    2012 - Rickie Fowler-p, 274
    2011 - Lucas Glover-p, 273

    Quail Hollow Championship
    2010 - Rory McIlroy, 273
    2009 - Sean O'Hair, 277

    Wachovia Championship
    2008 - Anthony Kim, 272
    2007 - Tiger Woods, 275
    2006 - Jim Furyk-p, 276
    2005 - Vijay Singh-p, 276
    2004 - Joey Sindelar-p, 277
    2003 - David Toms, 278