Chart of the Presidents and Vice Presidents

United States Presidents and Vice Presidents

Mount Rushmore
Dave and Les Jacobs / Getty Images

The first line of Article II Section 1 of the US Constitution states, "The executive power shall be vested in a President of the United States of America." With these words, the office of the president was established. Since 1789 and the election of George Washington, America's first president, 44 individuals have served as the chief executive of the United States (Grover Cleveland was elected for two nonconsecutive terms, so he served as the 22nd and 24th president).

The unamended Constitution mandated that a president would serve for four years. Originally, it did not state if there was to be a limit on the number of terms to which they could be elected. However, President Washington set a precedent of only serving two terms which was followed until November 5, 1940, when Franklin Roosevelt was elected for a third term. He would go on to win a fourth before dying in office. The 22nd Amendment was passed soon afterward that would limit presidents to only serving two terms or 10 years. 

This chart includes the names of all presidents of the United States, as well as links to their biographies. Also included are the names of their vice presidents, their political party, and terms in office. You might also be interested in reading about what presidents are on the bills of U.S. currency. 

Chart of the Presidents and Vice-Presidents

George Washington John Adams No Party Designation 1789-1797
John Adams Thomas Jefferson Federalist 1797-1801
Thomas Jefferson Aaron Burr,
George Clinton
Democratic-Republican 1801-1809
James Madison George Clinton,
Elbridge Gerry
Democratic-Republican 1809-1817
James Monroe Daniel D. Tompkins Democratic-Republican 1817-1825
John Quincy Adams John C. Calhoun Democratic-Republican 1825-1829
Andrew Jackson John C. Calhoun,
Martin Van Buren
Democratic 1829-1837
Martin Van Buren Richard M. Johnson Democratic 1837-1841
William Henry Harrison John Tyler Whig 1841
John Tyler None Whig 1841-1845
James Knox Polk George M. Dallas Democratic 1845-1849
Zachary Taylor Millard Fillmore Whig 1849-1850
Millard Fillmore None Whig 1850-1853
Franklin Pierce William R. King Democratic 1853-1857
James Buchanan John C. Breckinridge Democratic 1857-1861
Abraham Lincoln Hannibal Hamlin,
Andrew Johnson
Union 1861-1865
Andrew Johnson None Union 1865-1869
Ulysses Simpson Grant Schuyler Colfax,
Henry Wilson
Republican 1869-1877
Rutherford Birchard Hayes William A. Wheeler Republican 1877-1881
James Abram Garfield Chester Alan Arthur Republican 1881
Chester Alan Arthur None Republican 1881-1885
Stephen Grover Cleveland Thomas Hendricks Democratic 1885-1889
Benjamin Harrison Levi P. Morton Republican 1889-1893
Stephen Grover Cleveland Adlai E. Stevenson Democratic 1893-1897
William McKinley Garret A. Hobart,
Theodore Roosevelt
Republican 1897-1901
Theodore Roosevelt Charles W. Fairbanks Republican 1901-1909
William Howard Taft James S. Sherman Republican 1909-1913
Woodrow Wilson Thomas R. Marshall Democratic 1913-1921
Warren Gamaliel Harding Calvin Coolidge Republican 1921-1923
Calvin Coolidge Charles G. Dawes Republican 1923-1929
Herbert Clark Hoover Charles Curtis Republican 1929-1933
Franklin Delano Roosevelt John Nance Garner,
Henry A. Wallace,
Harry S. Truman
Democratic 1933-1945
Harry S. Truman Alben W. Barkley Democratic 1945-1953
Dwight David Eisenhower Richard Milhous Nixon Republican 1953-1961
John Fitzgerald Kennedy Lyndon Baines Johnson Democratic 1961-1963
Lyndon Baines Johnson Hubert Horatio Humphrey Democratic 1963-1969
Richard Milhous Nixon Spiro T. Agnew,
Gerald Rudolph Ford
Republican 1969-1974
Gerald Rudolph Ford Nelson Rockefeller Republican 1974-1977
James Earl Carter, Jr. Walter Mondale Democratic 1977-1981
Ronald Wilson Reagan George Herbert Walker Bush Republican 1981-1989
George Herbert Walker Bush J. Danforth Quayle Republican 1989-1993
William Jefferson Clinton Albert Gore, Jr. Democratic 1993-2001
George Walker Bush Richard Cheney Republican 2001-2009
Barack Obama Joseph Biden Democratic 2009-2017
Donald Trump Mike Pence Republican 2017-2021
Joseph Biden Kamala Harris Democratic 2021-
View Article Sources
  1. “Presidents.” The White House. The United States Government.

  2. The 22nd Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.” National Constitution Center.

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Kelly, Martin. "Chart of the Presidents and Vice Presidents." ThoughtCo, Apr. 5, 2023, Kelly, Martin. (2023, April 5). Chart of the Presidents and Vice Presidents. Retrieved from Kelly, Martin. "Chart of the Presidents and Vice Presidents." ThoughtCo. (accessed June 7, 2023).