The 5 Principles and 10 Disciplines of Hinduism

The Basics of Hinduism

Hindu worshippers
Mitchell Kanashkevich / Getty Images

What are the main principles of the Hindu way of life? And what are the 10 commandments of Sanatana Dharma? Read these 15 easy-to-remember basic tenets of Hinduism as summarized by Dr. Gangadhar Choudhury:

5 Principles

  1. God Exists: One Absolute OM. One Trinity: Brahma, Vishnu, Maheshwara (Shiva). Several divine forms
  2. All human beings are divine
  3. Unity of existence through love
  4. Religious harmony
  5. Knowledge of 3 Gs: Ganga (sacred river), Gita (sacred script), Gayatri (sacred mantra)

10 Disciplines

1. Satya (Truth)
2. Ahimsa (Non-violence)
3. Brahmacharya (Celibacy, non-adultery)
4. Asteya (No desire to possess or steal)
5. Aparighara (Non-corrupt)
6. Shaucha (Cleanliness)
7. Santosh (Contentment)
8. Swadhyaya (Reading of scriptures)
9. Tapas (Austerity, perseverance, penance)
10. Ishwarpranidhan (Regular prayers)