Purnima, Amavasya, and Ekadashi Dates for 2017-2018

Close-Up Of Pink Flowers
Purnima Rathi / EyeEm / Getty Images

Purnima or Full Moon Dates for 2017-2018

Purnima, the full moon day, is considered auspicious in the Hindu Calendar, and most devotees fast throughout the day and pray to the presiding deity, Lord Vishnu. Only after a whole day of fasting, prayers and a dip in the river do they take light food at dusk.

It is ideal to fast or take light food on a full moon and new moon days, as it is said to reduce the acidic content in our system, slow down the metabolic rates and increase endurance.

This restores the body and mind balance. Praying also helps in subduing the emotions and controls outbursts of temper.

What are the Auspicious Purnima Dates for this Year (2017-18)?

2017

  • 10 April, Monday - Chaitra Purnima
  • 10 May, Wednesday - Vaishakha Purnima
  • 9 June, Friday - Jyeshtha Purnima
  • 9 July, Sunday - Ashadha Purnima 
  • 7 August, Monday - Shravana Purnima
  • 6 September, Wednesday - Bhadrapada Purnima
  • 5 October, Thursday - Ashwin Purnima
  • 4 November, Saturday - Kartik Purnima
  • 3 December, Sunday - Margashirsha Purnima

2018

  • 1 January, Monday - Paush Purnima
  • 31 January, Monday - Magha Purnima
  • 1 March, Thursday - Phalguna Purnima
  • 31 March, Saturday - Chaitra Purnima

Amavasya or New Moon Dates for 2017-18

The Hindu calendar follows the lunar month, and Amavasya, the new moon night, falls at the beginning of the new lunar month that lasts for about 30 days. Most Hindus observe a fast on that day and offer food to their ancestors.

According to Garuda Purana (Preta Khanda), Lord Vishnu is believed to have said that the ancestors come to their descendants on Amavasya to partake of their food, and if nothing is offered to them they are displeased.

So, Hindus prepare 'Shraddha' (food) and await their ancestors. Many festivals like Diwali are observed on this day, too.

Amavasya marks a new beginning. Devotees vow to accept the new with optimism as new moon ushers in the hope of a new dawn.

What are the Amavasya Dates of this Year (2017-18)?

2017

    • 27 March, Monday - Chaitra Amavasya
    • 26 April, Wednesday - Vaishakha Amavasya
    • 25 May, Thursday - Jyeshtha Amavasya
    • 23 June, Friday - Ashadha Amavasya
    • 22 July, Saturday - Shravana Amavasya
    • 21 August, Monday - Bhadrapada Amavasya
    • 19 September, Tuesday - Ashwin Amavasya
    • 19 October, Thursday - Kartik Amavasya
    • 17 November, Friday - Margashirsha Amavasya
    • 17 December, Sunday - Paush Amavasya

    2018

    • 16 January, Tuesday - Magha Amavasya
    • 15 February, Thursday - Phalguna Amavasya
    • 17 March, Saturday - Chaitra Amavasya
    • 15 April, Sunday - Vaishakha Amavasya

     

    Ekadashi Dates for 2017-2018

    Ekadashi is the auspicious 11th Day of the lunar phase. Hindus observe a fast on the two Ekadashis every month, one during Shukla Paksha (bright phase) and another during Krishna Paksha (dark phase of the moon).

    According to the Hindu scriptures, Ekadasi and the movement of the moon has a direct correlation with the human mind. It is believed that during Ekadasi, our mind attains maximum efficiency, giving the brain a better capacity to concentrate. Spiritual seekers devote the two monthly days of Ekadasi in extreme worship and meditation, owing to its favorable influence on the mind.

    Religious reasons aside, these fortnightly fasts help the body and its organs get respite from dietary irregularities and over indulgences. 

    What are the Auspicious Ekadashi Dates of this Year (2017 to 2018)?

    2017

    • 23 March, Thursday - Papmochani Ekadashi
    • 6 April, Thursday - Kamada Ekadashi
    • 22 April, Saturday - Varuthini Ekadashi
    • 6 May, Saturday - Mohini Ekadashi
    • 21 May, Sunday - Apara Ekadashi
    • 4 June, Sunday - Nirjala Ekadashi
    • 20 June, Tuesday - Yogini Ekadashi
    • 4 July, Tuesday - Devshayani Ekadashi
    • 19 July, Wednesday - Kamika Ekadashi
    • 3 August, Thursday - Shravana Putrada Ekadashi
    • 17 August, Thursday - Aja Ekadashi
    • 1 September, Friday - Parsva Ekadashi
    • 15 September, Friday - Indira Ekadashi
    • 1 October, Sunday - Papankusha Ekadashi
    • 15 October, Sunday - Rama Ekadashi
    • 30 October, Monday - Devutthana Ekadashi
    • 13 November, Monday - Utpanna Ekadashi
    • 29 November, Wednesday - Mokshada Ekadashi
    • 13 December, Wednesday - Saphala Ekadashi
    • 28 December, Thursday - Pausha Putrada Ekadashi
    • 29 December, Friday - Gauna / Vaishnava Pausha Putrada Ekadashi

    2018

    • 12 January, Friday - Shattila Ekadashi
    • 27 January, Saturday - Jaya Ekadashi
    • 10 February, Saturday - Vijaya Ekadashi
    • 25 February, Sunday - Amalaki Ekadashi
    • 12 March, Monday - Papmochani Ekadashi
    • 27 March, Tuesday - Kamada Ekadash
    • 11 April, Wednesday - Varuthini Ekadashi